MILITARY HISTORY: A Pathfinder

This guide will introduce some of the resources available in the Combined Arms Research Library on MILITARY HISTORY. The various types of library materials useful in research are described along with some examples of each type. This guide is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but is intended to be a starting point from which students can begin their research according to their specific needs.

BOOKS

Search the CARL Online Catalog for books on topics within military history. Use the subject keyword search for topics such as: tactics and 19^th century; Clausewitz; Napoleonic wars; etc.

GENERAL SOURCES

• Cowley & Parker. Reader's Companion to Military History (maps) (REF 355.009 R2872)
• Dupuy & Dupuy. Harper Encyclopedia of Military History (maps) (REF 355.009 D945h)
• Encyclopedia of the American Military (REF 355.00973 E56)
• Dupuy. International Military and Defense Encyclopedia (REF 355.003 I612)
• Jessup. A Guide to the Study and Use of Military History (973.072 G966)

SPECIALIZED RESOURCES

Reference works dealing with a particular war or nation.

• Haythornthwaite. The Napoleonic Source Book (REF 940.27 N 216 h)
• Higham. A Guide to the Sources of U.S Military History (REF 016.3550973 H638g)
• The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War I (REF 940.3 M367)
• Weigley.  History of the United States Army (355.0973 W419h)

JOURNALS: These journals can be found on the tall shelves behind the reference shelves.  Some journals also have their own consolidated indexes, which can be a valuable source for information.

• Civil War History
• Journal of Military History
• Journal of the Royal United Service Institute (RUSI)
• Military History
• Naval History

DATABASES: These resources will provide citations and/or fulltext articles and reports. They can be accessed through CARL's Find Articles.

Air University Index to Military Periodicals	Historical Abstracts
America: History and Life (U.S. & Canada)	JSTOR
EBSCO Military and Government Collection	STINET (DoD, MMAS theses, SAMS Monographs)

INTERNET: A few of the many on military history, these sites have both good content and links to other sites.  **When Searching the Internet, please consider the authority behind the information.

Major Military History Sites	Army Lineage Series
Army Heritage Collection	Armies, Corps, Divisions and Separate Brigades
Center of Military History	Armor-Cavalry
MHI Digitized Material	Continental Army
Medical History, Stimson Library	Infantry: Regular Army
Naval Historical Center	Maneuver & Firepower: The Evolution of Divisions & Separate Brigades
	Military Intelligence
	Military Police

CARL'S INTERNET PAGES: Pages from the CARL that focus on military history.

• Interwar & Related Documents
• Military History

ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK(S) FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE

---

Return to Pathfinder Directory