



7100 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-7100

08-FYI-0002

11 April 2008

Missile Defense Agency Presents Annual Technology Pioneer Awards

Lt. General Henry A. "Trey" Obering, Missile Defense Agency director, announced the winners of the third annual Technology Pioneer Awards on March 31, 2008, at the Sixth Annual U.S. Missile Defense Conference.

The 2008 honorees included five individual awards and one team award. The first individual award went to Dr. Joseph Miller (posthumous) for his significant contributions to the chemical laser demonstrations that were critical to the development of the High Energy Laser and ultimately lead to viable solutions for missile defense. The second individual award went to Mr. Alvin Eaton for his technical leadership which contributed directly to the success of the Standard Missile, PATRIOT (Phased Array Tracking Radar Intercept on Target) and THAAD (Terminal High Altitude Area Defense) missile interceptors we use today. The third individual award went to Dr. James Outenreath for his significant management and engineering contributions over a 35 year period that ultimately enabled the U.S. to demonstrate endo- and exo-atmospheric hit-to-kill intercepts. The fourth honoree was retired U.S. Air Force Colonel Michael Rendine for his leadership, technical and managerial expertise as the Program Manager of the Delta series of experiments and subsequently Director of Special Projects. The fifth individual honored was retired U.S. Navy Vice Admiral Rodney Rempt for his contributions from 1990 to 2001 in initiating the development of Naval Theater Ballistic Missile Defense. The 2008 team award went to Mr. David Laighton and Mr. Michael Borkowski for their contributions to the development of Ballistic Missile Defense radars by developing affordable and reliable X-band solid-state Monolithic Microwave Integrated Circuit Transmit/Receive modules.

The Technology Pioneer Award was created to recognize individuals or small groups who have made outstanding contributions to technology and the advancement of missile defense in the past 24 years. This unsung hero award recognizes those whom have made significant contributions in science and technology, engineering, or program management.

Nominees include either government or industry employees that have made a unique contribution that directly affects the missile defense capability for the United States. The candidates were picked due to their initiative, creative thinking, innovation, and have gone beyond the normal bureaucratic boundaries. The award may be granted to either government or industry employees living or deceased, so long as they have made a unique contribution that directly affects the missile defense capability for the United States.

Contact: Rick Lehner, MDA Public Affairs, at (703) 697-8997 or Richard.Lehner@mda.mil