

7100 Defense Pentagon Washington, DC 20301-7100

Archive

March 23, 2004

Abrahamson Receives Missile Defense Award

The Missile Defense Agency (MDA) announced that Lt. Gen. James A. Abrahamson, U.S. Air Force (Retired), is the second recipient of the Ronald Reagan Missile Defense Award, an annual honor awarded to individuals or organizations to recognize outstanding support, innovation, and engineering and scientific achievement associated with technologies designed to defend against ballistic missile attack. General Abrahamson was the first director of the Strategic Defense Initiative Organization (SDIO), the forerunner of the Missile Defense Agency, and served from March 27, 1984 to January 31, 1989.

The award was presented to General Abrahamson during a ceremony at the Ronald Reagan International Trade Center in Washington, D.C. on March 23, 2004, during the 2nd Annual Missile Defense Conference sponsored by MDA and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Former Secretary of Defense Casper Weinberger received the award last year.