HANFORD ADVISORY BOARD

A Site Specific Advisory Board, Chartered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act

<u>Advising</u>:

US Dept of Energy US Environmental Protection Agency Washington State Dept of Ecology

CHAIR: Susan Leckband

VICE CHAIR: Steve Hudson

BOARD MEMBERS:

Local Business Harold Heacock

Labor/Work Force Mark Reavis Thomas Carpenter Jeff Luke Lynn Davison Rebecca Holland

Local Environment Gene Van Liew

Local Government Maynard Plahuta Pam Larsen Rick Jansons Rob Davis Jerry Peltier Bob Adler Bob Parks

Tribal Government Russell Jim John Stanfill Rosenda Shippentower

> **Public Health** Tony Brooks Howard Putter

University Doug Mercer Richard Stout

Public-at-Large Norma Jean Germond Keith Smith Sam Dechter Bob Suyama

Regional Environment/Citizen Dan Serres Steve Hudson Gerald Pollet Susan Leckband Floyd Hodges

State of Oregon Ken Niles

Ex-Officio Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Washington State Department of Health

Envirolssues Hanford Project Office 713 Jadwin, Suite 3 Richland, WA 99352 Phone: (509) 942-1926 Fax: (509) 942-1926 September 7, 2012

Matt McCormick, Manager U.S. Department of Energy, Richland Operations P.O. Box 550 (A7-50) Richland, WA 99352

Dennis Faulk, Manager U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 10 309 Bradley Blvd,, Suite 115 Richland WA 99352

Re: 200 West Groundwater Treatment Facility

Dear Messrs. McCormick and Faulk,

The Hanford Advisory Board expresses appreciation for the work you and your staff have done to build and begin operations of the 200-West Groundwater Treatment Facility.

Protection of the Columbia River is one of the HABs highest priorities. We look forward to many years of successful operation of this facility; removing and treating contaminated groundwater under the Hanford Site before it moves to the Columbia River. The Board urges similar bold actions to prevent contaminated groundwater in the 300 and 100 Areas from reaching the Columbia River.

Again, congratulations on a job well done.

Sincerely,

usan Leckhard

Susan Leckband, Chair Hanford Advisory Board

This letter represents Board consensus for this specific topic. It should not be taken out of context to extrapolate Board agreement on other subject matters.

cc: Scott Samuelson, Manager, U. S. Department of Energy, Office of River Protection Dana Bryson, Deputy Designated Official, U.S. Department of Energy Jane Hedges, Washington State Department of Ecology

Catherine Alexander, U.S. Department of Energy, Headquarters The Oregon and Washington Delegations