Basis for Closing the National Science Board's November 23, 2010 Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Awards Teleconference

On November 15, 2010, the Executive Committee of the National Science Board voted to close the Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Awards Teleconference scheduled for November 23, 2010. Board Members Drs. Bowen, Gulari, Galloway, Benbow and Suresh participated in the vote through an e-mail polling of the Executive Committee. A majority of the participating members voted "yes" to close the November 23, 2010 Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Awards Teleconference.

The Board Members, National Science Board Office staff, and selected NSF staff will participate. The justification and authority for closing the teleconference is provided in the attached certification.

CERTIFICATE

It is my opinion that the National Science Board's Ad Hoc Committee on Honorary Awards Teleconference scheduled for November 23, 2010 having to do with discussions regarding selection criteria and candidates for honorary or achievement awards may properly be closed to the public under 5 U.S.C. § 552b(c) (6).

//s//

Lawrence Rudolph General Counsel National Science Foundation