NATIONAL SCIENCE BOARD TASK FORCE ON SUSTAINABLE ENERGY

Roundtable Discussion #1

Science, Engineering, and Education Challenges Related to the Development of Sustainable Energy

> National Science Foundation 4201 Wilson Blvd., Room 1235 Arlington, VA 22230 February 8, 2008

<u>AGENDA</u>			
8:00 a.m.	 Welcoming Remarks Dr. Steven Beering, Chairman, National Science Board 		
8:05 a.m.	 Overview, Purpose, and Goals of the Roundtable Discussion Dr. Dan Arvizu and Dr. Jon Strauss, Co-Chairmen, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board 		
8:15 a.m.	 Process and Logistics for Board Roundtable Discussions Dr. Craig Robinson, Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board 		
8:20 a.m.	Introduction of Participants		
8:30 a.m.	Presentation: Facing the Hard Truths About Energy: A Comprehensive View to 2030 of Global Oil and Natural Gas Speaker: Mr. Rod Nelson, Vice President, Schlumberger		
8:50 a.m.	Discussion Session 1: Sustainable Energy Research and Development Discussion Co-Moderators: Dr. Arvizu and Dr. Strauss		
10:15 a.m.	Break		
10:30 a.m.	Presentation: IPCC IV Assessment Report: Synthesis Report on Climate Change 2007 Speaker: Dr. Robert Corell, Program Director, Heinz Center		
10:50 a.m.	Presentation: NSF and Energy Research and Education Speaker: Dr. Richard Buckius, Assistant Director, Directorate for Engineering, National Science Foundation		
11:10 a.m.	Working Lunch Discussion Session 2: NSF's Role in a National Sustainable Energy Initiative Discussion Co-Moderators: Dr. Arvizu and Dr. Strauss		

12:45 p.m. **Break**

1:00 p.m. Presentation: Reducing U.S. Greenhouse Gas Emissions: How Much at What

Cost?

Speaker: Mr. Kenneth Ostrowski, Director of the Americas Electric Power

and Natural Gas Practice, McKinsey & Company

1:30 p.m. Discussion Session 3: Recommendations for a National Research and

Education Initiative in Sustainable Energy

Discussion Co-Moderators: Dr. Arvizu and Dr. Strauss

2:45 p.m. Summary and Next Steps for the Task Force

• Dr. Arvizu and Dr. Strauss

List of Participants: Roundtable Discussion #1

Name	Affiliation		
National Science Board Participants			
Dr. Dan E. Arvizu	Co-Chairman, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board		
Dr. Jon C. Strauss	Co-Chairman, Task Force on Sustainable Energy, National Science Board		
Dr. Mark R. Abbott	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board		
Dr. Steven C. Beering	Chairman, National Science Board		
Dr. Camilla P. Benbow	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board		
Dr. John T. Bruer	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board		
Dr. Patricia D. Galloway	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board		
Dr. José-Marie Griffiths	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board		

Dr. Daniel E. Hastings	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Douglas D. Randall	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Mr. Arthur K. Reilly	Task Force on Sustainable Energy Member, National Science Board			
Dr. Arden Bement, Jr., ex officio	Director, National Science Foundation			
Participants				
Dr. Ghassem Asrar	Deputy Administrator, U.S. Department of Agriculture			
Dr. Sam Baldwin	Chief Technology Officer and Member, Board of Directors; Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy			
Dr. Jan Brecht-Clark	Associate Administrator, RD&T Research and Innovative Technology Administration, United States Department of Transportation			
Dr. Richard Buckius	Assistant Director, Directorate for Engineering, National Science Foundation			
Dr. Robert (Bob) Corell	Program Director, Heinz Center			
Dr. Jon Creyts	Principal, McKinsey & Company			
Dr. Patricia Dehmer	Deputy Director of Science Programs, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy			
Mr. Chris DiPetto	Developmental Test and Evaluation Deputy Director, Defense Systems and Software Engineering, Deputy Under Secretary for Acquisition and Technology, United States Department of Defense			
Dr. James (Jim) Dooley	Senior Staff Scientist, Joint Global Change Research Institute			
Dr. Luis Echegoyen	Division Director, Division of Chemistry, National Science Foundation			
Dr. Carolyn Fischer	Fellow, Resources for the Future			
Dr. Alan Hecht	Director for Sustainable Development, Office of Research and			

	Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency			
Mr. Joe Loper	Vice President of Policy and Research, Alliance to Save Energy			
Mr. Richard Mertens	Deputy Associate Director for Energy, Science, and Water, White House/Office of Management and Budget			
Dr. Nebojsa Nakicenovic	Professor of Energy Economics, Vienna University of Technology			
Mr. Rod Nelson	Vice President, Schlumberger			
Dr. Robert O'Connor	Program Director, Decision, Risk and Management Sciences, Division of Social and Economic Sciences, National Science Foundation			
Mr. Ken Ostrowski	Director of the Americas Electric Power and Natural Gas Practice, McKinsey & Company			
Ambassador Richard Russell	Associate Director and Deputy Director for Technology, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President			
Mr. Jim Presswood	Energy Advocate, Natural Resources Defense Council			
Dr. Harvey Sachs	Director, Buildings Programs, American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy			
Mr. Jonathan Spector	Chief Executive Officer, The Conference Board, Inc.			
In Attendance & Supporting a Confirmed Participant				
Dr. Linda Blevins	Technical Advisor, Office of Basic Energy Sciences, U.S. Department of Energy			
Mr. Brad Hancock	Associate Director for Energy and Utilities, U.S. Department of Defense			
Dr. Kevin Hurst	Senior Policy Analyst, Technology Division, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President			
Dr. Tom Zimmerman	Fellow, Schlumberger			