EDWARD C. SULLIVAN, President
JOSEPH MALONEY, Secretary-Treasurer

FRANK HANLEY, 1st Vice President JOHN J. DOUGHERTY, 2nd Vice President MARTIN J. MADDALONI, 3rd Vice President MICHAEL J. SULLIVAN, 4th Vice President JAMES P. HOFFA, 5th Vice President JOHN J. FLYNN, 6th Vice President



TERENCE M. O'SULLIVAN, 7th Vice President DANA A. BRIGHAM, 8th Vice President EDWIN D. HILL, 9th Vice President JOSEPH J. HUNT, 10th Vice President JAMES A. GROGAN, 11th Vice President JAMES A. WILLIAMS, 12th Vice President DOUGLAS J. McCARRON, 13th Vice President JOHN C. MARTINI, 14th Vice President NEWTON B. JONES, 15th Vice President

Building and Construction Trades Department

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR—CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS 815 SIXTEENTH ST., N.W., SUITE 600 • WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006-4104

(202) 347-1461

www.BCTD.org

FAX (202) 628-0724

Hanford Site Stabilization Agreement Joint Labor/Management Interpretation

Bulletin 7

Reference:

Interpretation of Article XIII, Hours of Work, Shifts, and Overtime, Section 6, B

Subject:

Hours of Work, Shifts and Overtime

A question has been raised concerning the established workweek under the 4 x10 work schedule and the proper payment of wages for hours worked by second shift employees prior to the established second shift on Monday.

This issue was addressed by the Committee at the July 21, 2004, meeting of the Hanford Administrative Committee and the following interpretation was provided.

The Committee reaffirmed its position that when the option for a 4×10 hour shift is utilized, the work week shall begin with the established starting time for the day shift on Monday.

The workweek shall be Monday through Thursday with each workday being defined as the (24) twenty-four hour period, which begins with the established starting time of the day shift on Monday.

Therefore, all hours worked by second shift employees prior to the start of the established second shift on Monday shall be paid at the rate of time and one half the basic straight time hourly rate.

•

Terry T. Géorge

Bechtel National, Inc.

William P. Kaczorowsk

Frank Blowe

Flour Hanford, Inc.