EDWARD C. SULLIVAN, President JOSEPH MALONEY, Secretary-Treasurer

CHARLES W. JONES, 1st Vice President EARL J. KRUSE, 2nd Vice President FRANK HANLEY, 3rd Vice President JOHN J. DOUGHERTY, 4th Vice President MARTIN J. MADDALONI, 5th Vice President MICHAEL J. SULLIVAN, 6th Vice President



JAMES P. HOFFA, 7th Vice President JOHN J. FLYNN, 8th Vice President TERENCE M. O'SULLIVAN, 9th Vice President DANA A. BRIGHAM, 10th Vice President EDWIN D. HILL, 11th Vice President JOSEPH J. HUNT, 12th Vice President JAMES A. GROGAN, 13th Vice President DOUGLAS J. MCCARRON, 15th Vice President

Building and Construction Trades Department

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF LABOR-CONGRESS OF INDUSTRIAL ORGANIZATIONS 815 SIXTEENTH ST., N.W., SUITE 600 • WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006-4104

(202) 347-1461

www.BCTD.org FAX (202) 628-0724

Hanford Site Stabilization Agreement Joint Labor/Management Interpretation

Bulletin 4

Reference:Interpretation of Article XXSubject:General Working Conditions

A question has been raised concerning the length and location of breaks. Bechtel National has agreed to two (2), ten minute breaks each work day. These breaks are to be taken at the employee's place of work as time permits.

The committee agreed that this issue is addressed by Article XX Section 9, which states that "There will be no rest period, organized coffee breaks, or other non-working time established during work hours".

In addition, the committee reaffirmed that Bechtel National's proposal for breaks had been previously addressed and accepted by the committee. The expectation is that Bechtel National would make reasonable accommodations to facilitate those breaks during inclement weather.

ntel National, Inc.

W. Hing ?

Fluor Dahiel North West

Williand Kayorowski

William P. Kaczorowski Administrator, HSSA