UNCLASSIFIED (U)

U.S. Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual Volume 9
Visas

9 FAM 42.12 EXHIBIT II DEPENDENT AREAS SUBJECT TO ANNUAL LIMITATION PURSUANT TO SECTION 202(A) OF IMMIGRATION AND NATIONALITY ACT*

(CT:VISA-1861; 08-23-2012) (Office of Origin: CA/VO/L/R)

Governing Country and Dependent Areas Symbol**

AUSTRALIA:

Christmas Island	CHRI
Cocos (Keeling) Islands	COCI
Norfolk Island	NFK

DENMARK:

Faroe Islands	FRO
Greenland	GRLD

FRANCE:

French Polynesia	FPOL
French Southern and Antarctic Lands	FSAT
Mayotte	MYT
New Caledonia	NCAL
Saint Barthelemy	STBR
Saint Martin ¹	MAF
Saint Pierre and Miquelon	SPMI
Wallis and Futuna	WAFT

MOROCCO:

Western Sahara ²	SSAH

NETHERLANDS:

Aruba	ARB
Curacao	CUR
Sint Maarten ¹	STM

UNCLASSIFIED (U)

U.S. Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual Volume 9
Visas

NEW ZEALAND:

Cook Islands	CKIS
Niue	NIUE
Tokelau	TKL

NORWAY:

Sval	bard	SJM
O	5 4. 4	3. .

PORTUGAL:

UNITED KINGDOM:

Anguilla	ANGU
Bermuda	BERM
British Indian Ocean Territory (Diego	IOT
Garcia)	
British Virgin Islands	BRVI
Cayman Islands	CAYI
Falkland Islands	FKLI
Gibraltar	GIB
Montserrat	MONT
Pitcairn Islands	PITC
South Georgia and the South Sandwich	SGS
Islands	
St. Helena ⁴	SHEL
Turks and Caicos Islands	TCIS

^{*}The Immigration Act of 1990 (Public Law 101-649) amended section 202(a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act to increase the annual dependent area limitation. The annual dependent area limitation shall not exceed 2 percent of the total annual limitation. This amendment was effective October 1, 1991.

^{**}Symbol for statistical reporting.

¹ Persons born in the portion of St. Martin controlled by France are chargeable to St. Martin; those born in the Netherlands-controlled portion are chargeable to Sint Maarten.

² Disputed Territory. See United Nations Mission for the Referendum on Western Sahara and Security Council Resolution 1720 of October 31, 2006. Morocco virtually annexed the northern two-thirds of Western Sahara (formerly Spanish Sahara) in 1976, and the rest of the territory in 1979, following Mauritania's withdrawal. A guerrilla war with the Polisario Front contesting Rabat's sovereignty

UNCLASSIFIED (U)

U.S. Department of State Foreign Affairs Manual Volume 9
Visas

ended in a 1991 UN-brokered cease-fire; a UN-organized referendum on final status has been repeatedly postponed.

³ Effective December 20, 1999, Macau was returned to Chinese administration and was designated as the Special Administrative Region of Macau. Title II (United States-Macau Policy Act of 2000) of Public Law 106-570 enacted December 27, 2000 provides that, notwithstanding any change in the exercise of sovereignty over Macau, the laws of the United States shall continue to apply with respect to Macau in the same manner as before December 20, 1999.

⁴ The Tristan da Cunha Group and Ascension Island are part of St. Helena.