Thread: MOS, JAGC, Enlisted?

Default MOS, JAGC, Enlisted?

Hello everyone.
    I am a newbie, so please forgive any mistakes. I recently decided to try for the Army National Guard. I am an Army brat and a law school graduate looking for career opportunites; I couldn't find anything civilian to my liking so I decided to serve my country like my dad as well as give myself some stability and security.

I have a few questions before I sign on the dotted line:
    1) If I go Enlisted (to pay for college loans), what MOS should I choose? Otherwise, I got the impression from my Recruiter that they'll choose for me.

2) How do I go from Enlisted to OCS?

3) Will they help/pay for taking the Bar Exam.

Thank you in advance for all your advice.

Default Re: MOS, JAGC, Enlisted?

Quote Originally Posted by KayLaw11 View Post
    Hello everyone.
    I am a newbie, so please forgive any mistakes. I recently decided to try for the Army National Guard. I am an Army brat and a law school graduate looking for career opportunites; I couldn't find anything civilian to my liking so I decided to serve my country like my dad as well as give myself some stability and security.

I have a few questions before I sign on the dotted line:
    1) If I go Enlisted (to pay for college loans), what MOS should I choose? Otherwise, I got the impression from my Recruiter that they'll choose for me.

2) How do I go from Enlisted to OCS?

3) Will they help/pay for taking the Bar Exam.

Thank you in advance for all your advice.
    1) What type of work do you want to do? Do you want to work in the legal field or do something new?

2) You just apply through your chain of command once in your unit, however that is for regular officers. If you have a law degree and wanted to be a JAG officer that is a direct commision and you would not need to attend OCS.

3) Once eligble, you should qualify for reimburment through the GI Bill. If you want to know for sure call them and ask at 888 gibill1