## Missouri – Severe Winter Storm and Snowstorm FEMA-1961-DR

### Declared March 23, 2011

On March 1, 2011, Governor Jeremiah W. Nixon requested a major disaster declaration due to a severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period of January 31 to February 5, 2011. The Governor requested a declaration for Public Assistance, including snow assistance, for 62 counties; Public Assistance for two counties and Hazard Mitigation for the entire State of Missouri. During the period of February 15-25, 2011, joint Federal, State, and local Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs) were conducted in the requested counties and are summarized below. PDAs estimate damages immediately after an event and are considered, along with several other factors, in determining whether a disaster is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and the affected local governments, and that Federal assistance is necessary.<sup>1</sup>

On March 23, 2011, President Obama declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Missouri. This declaration made Public Assistance requested by the Governor available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and snowstorm in Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Dade, Dallas, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, Vernon, and Worth Counties. This declaration also authorized emergency protective measures (Category B), including snow assistance in Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Cole, Dade, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Livingston, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, St. Clair, Sullivan, and Vernon. The assistance for Cooper, Dallas, Linn, Macon, Moniteau, Ralls, and Shelby Counties will be provided for a period of 72 hours. Finally, this declaration made Hazard Mitigation Grant Program assistance requested by the Governor available for hazard mitigation measures for the entire state.<sup>2</sup>

# <u>Summary of Damage Assessment Information Used in Determining Whether to Declare a Major Disaster</u>

#### **Individual Assistance - (Not requested)**

• Total Number of Residences Impacted:<sup>3</sup>

#### Affected -

• Percentage of insured residences:<sup>4</sup>

• Percentage of low income households:<sup>5</sup> -

• Percentage of elderly households:<sup>6</sup> -

Total Individual Assistance cost estimate: N/A

#### **Public Assistance**

Primary Impact: Emergency Protective Measures

• Total Public Assistance cost estimate: \$12,828,384

Statewide per capita impact: <sup>7</sup> \$2.29
Statewide per capita impact indicator: <sup>8</sup> \$1.30

Countywide per capita impact: Adair County (\$4.07), Andrew County (\$4.22), Audrain County (\$4.69), Barton County (\$5.76), Bates County (\$7.28), Benton County (\$8.35), Boone County (\$7.57), Buchanan County (\$2.22), Caldwell County (\$40.67), Callaway County (\$5.79), Camden County (\$2.82), Carroll County (\$24.66), Cass County (\$5.68), Cedar County (\$7.99), Chariton County (\$11.62), Clark County (\$5.70), Clay County (\$2.68), Clinton County (\$16.45), Cole County (\$7.55), Cooper County (\$7.70), Dade County (\$10.28), Dallas County (\$3.94), DeKalb County (\$6.71), Grundy County (\$29.13), Henry County (\$18.81), Hickory County (\$3.85), Howard County (\$8.10), Jackson County (\$1.70), Johnson County (\$4.96), Knox County (\$42.45), Laclede County (\$5.08), Lafayette County (\$4.82), Lewis County (\$19.47), Linn County (\$19.93), Livingston County (\$22.87), Macon County (\$8.65), Madison County (\$5.91), Maries County (\$8.83), Marion County (\$7.66), McDonald County (\$4.12), Miller County (\$6.76), Moniteau County (\$5.96), Monroe County (\$14.47), Montgomery County (\$7.26), Morgan County (\$6.20), Newton County (\$4.50), Osage County (\$4.91), Pettis County (\$4.45), Pike County (\$2.60), Platte County (\$4.87), Polk County (\$4.59), Pulaski County (\$3.38), Putnam County (\$17.96), Ralls County (\$12.26), Randolph County (\$4.50), Ray County (\$4.06), Saline County (\$6.47), Schuyler County (\$49.38), Scotland County (\$20.67), Shelby County (\$20.22), St. Clair County (\$4.56), Sullivan County (\$29.88), Vernon County (\$4.12), and Worth County (\$20.49)

• Countywide per capita impact indicator: \$3.27

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The preliminary damage assessment (PDA) process is a mechanism used to determine the impact and magnitude of damage and resulting needs of individuals, businesses, public sector, and community as a whole. Information collected is used by the State as a basis for the Governor's request for a major disaster or emergency declaration, and by the President in determining a response to the Governor's request (44 CFR § 206.33).

When a Governor's request for major disaster assistance under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, as amended (Stafford Act) is under review, a number of primary factors are considered to determine whether assistance is warranted. These factors are outlined in FEMA's regulations (44 CFR § 206.48). The President has ultimate discretion and decision making authority to declare major disasters and emergencies under the Stafford Act (42 U.S.C. § 5170 and § 5191).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Degree of damage to impacted residences:

o Destroyed – total loss of structure, structure is not economically feasible to repair, or complete failure to major structural components (e.g., collapse of basement walls/foundation, walls or roof);

- Major Damage substantial failure to structural elements of residence (e.g., walls, floors, foundation), or damage that will take more than 30 days to repair;
- Minor Damage home is damaged and uninhabitable, but may be made habitable in short period of time with repairs; and
- o Affected some damage to the structure and contents, but still habitable.
- <sup>4</sup> By law, Federal disaster assistance cannot duplicate insurance coverage (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(5)).
- <sup>5</sup> Special populations, such as low-income, the elderly, or the unemployed may indicate a greater need for assistance (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(3)).
- <sup>6</sup> Ibid (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(3)).
- <sup>7</sup> Based on State population in the 2000 Census.
- <sup>8</sup> Statewide Per Capita Impact Indicator for FY11, Federal Register, October 1, 2010.
- <sup>9</sup> Countywide Per Capita Impact Indicator for FY11, Federal Register, October 1, 2010.