# Illinois – Severe Winter Storm and Snowstorm FEMA-1960-DR

# Declared Month 17, 2011

On February 28, 2011, Governor Pat Quinn requested a major disaster declaration due to a severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period of January 31 to February 3, 2011. The Governor requested a declaration for Public Assistance for 60 counties; Public Assistance, including snow assistance for 43 counties and Hazard Mitigation for all counties. The Governor further requested an additional 24-hour period of snow assistance for nine counties. During the period of February 22-25, 2011, joint Federal, State, and local Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs) were conducted in the requested counties and are summarized below. PDAs estimate damages immediately after an event and are considered, along with several other factors, in determining whether a disaster is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and the affected local governments, and that Federal assistance is necessary.<sup>1</sup>

On March 17, 2011, President Obama declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Illinois. This declaration made Public Assistance requested by the Governor available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm and snowstorm in Adams, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Christian, Clark, Clay, Coles, Cook, Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jasper, Jo Daviess, Kane, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago, and Woodford Counties. This declaration also authorized emergency protective measures (Category B), including snow assistance in Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Jo Daviess, Kane, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago, and Woodford. The assistance for Adams, Boone, Brown, Ford, Henderson, Knox, McHenry, Menard, and Scott Counties will be provided for a period of 72 hours. Finally, this declaration made Hazard Mitigation Grant Program assistance requested by the Governor available for hazard mitigation measures for all counties.<sup>2</sup>

## Summary of Damage Assessment Information Used in Determining Whether to Declare a Major Disaster

### Individual Assistance - (Not requested)

• Total Number of Residences Impacted:<sup>3</sup>

Destroyed -Major Damage -Minor Damage - Affected -

- Percentage of insured residences:<sup>4</sup> •
- Percentage of low income households:<sup>5</sup>
- Percentage of elderly households:<sup>6</sup> •
- Total Individual Assistance cost estimate: N/A

#### **Public Assistance**

- **Primary Impact:**
- Total Public Assistance cost estimate:
- Statewide per capita impact:<sup>7</sup>
- Statewide per capita impact indicator:<sup>8</sup>
- Countywide per capita impact:

Emergency protective measures \$64,375,037

\$5.18

\$1.30 Adams County (\$4.23), Bond County (\$29.90), Boone County (\$4.85), Brown County (\$4.72), Bureau County (\$9.37), Calhoun County (\$17.21), Carroll County (\$10.13), Cass County (\$6.73), Christian County (\$3.72), Clark County (\$25.97), Clay County (\$28.26), Coles County (\$12.61), Cook County (\$4.07), Crawford County (\$16.22), Cumberland County (\$83.11), DeKalb County (\$3.62), Douglas County (\$5.88), DuPage County (\$4.45), Edgar County (\$27.02), Effingham County (\$14.15), Fayette County (\$47.05), Ford County (\$5.02), Fulton County (\$5.53), Hancock County (\$9.73), Henderson County (\$13.06), Henry County (\$3.38), Jasper County (\$28.56), Jo Daviess County (\$9.48), Kane County (\$7.00), Knox County (\$6.13), Lake County (\$6.38), LaSalle County (\$3.39), Lee County (\$5.59), Logan County (\$3.90), Marion County (\$14.36), Marshall County (\$5.62), Mason County (\$5.00), McDonough County (\$7.70), McHenry County (\$6.77), Menard County (\$10.45), Mercer County (\$11.48), Morgan County (\$7.21), Moultrie County (\$9.60), Ogle County (\$8.17), Peoria County (\$5.57), Pike County (\$17.94), Putnam County (\$7.53), Richland County (\$8.27), Rock Island County (\$3.93), Schuyler County (\$7.58), Scott County (\$17.27), Shelby County (\$13.00), Stark County (\$10.29), Tazewell County (\$3.73), Warren County (\$8.39), Washington County (\$9.00), Whiteside County (\$5.20), Will County (\$6.91), Winnebago County (\$5.08), Woodford County (\$4.93) Countywide per capita impact indicator:<sup>9</sup> \$3.27

by the President in determining a response to the Governor's request (44 CFR § 206.33).

<sup>1</sup> The preliminary damage assessment (PDA) process is a mechanism used to determine the impact and magnitude of damage and resulting needs of individuals, businesses, public sector, and community as a whole. Information collected is used by the State as a basis for the Governor's request for a major disaster or emergency declaration, and

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> When a Governor's request for major disaster assistance under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, as amended (Stafford Act) is under review, a number of primary factors are considered to determine whether assistance is warranted. These factors are outlined in FEMA's regulations (44 CFR § 206.48). The President has ultimate discretion and decision making authority to declare major disasters and emergencies under the Stafford Act (42 U.S.C. § 5170 and § 5191).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Degree of damage to impacted residences:

Destroyed - total loss of structure, structure is not economically feasible to repair, or complete failure to 0 major structural components (e.g., collapse of basement walls/foundation, walls or roof);

- Major Damage substantial failure to structural elements of residence (e.g., walls, floors, foundation), or damage that will take more than 30 days to repair;
- Minor Damage home is damaged and uninhabitable, but may be made habitable in short period of time with repairs; and
- Affected some damage to the structure and contents, but still habitable.
- <sup>4</sup> By law, Federal disaster assistance cannot duplicate insurance coverage (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(5)).

<sup>5</sup> Special populations, such as low-income, the elderly, or the unemployed may indicate a greater need for assistance (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(3)).

- <sup>6</sup> Ibid (44 CFR § 206.48(b)(3)).
- <sup>7</sup> Based on State population in the 2000 Census.
- <sup>8</sup> Statewide Per Capita Impact Indicator for FY11, *Federal Register*, October 1, 2010.
- <sup>9</sup> Countywide Per Capita Impact Indicator for FY11, *Federal Register*, October 1, 2010.