Contact:

Christine Patrick 301-713-8003

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 25, 2012

U.S. Commerce Department announces 2012 regional fishery council appointments

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 30 new and returning members to the eight regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA's Fisheries Service to manage ocean fish stocks.

The councils were established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act to prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their regions. NOAA's Fisheries Service works closely with the councils as plans are developed, and then reviews, approves, and implements the fishery management plans.

"I'm pleased to announce our newest members to the regional fishery management councils," said Sam Rauch, deputy assistant administrator for NOAA's Fisheries Service. "Along with their colleagues, these new council members will help shape the science-based management of U.S. fisheries and continue the strong commitment to turning the corner on ending overfishing, rebuilding fish stocks and achieving and maintaining sustainable fisheries and vibrant fishing communities."

Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental interests and academia, and carry out the act's requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks, and manage them sustainably. Each year, approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils are appointed by the Secretary of Commerce. NOAA's Fisheries Service selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments and oversees the annual appointment process.

The new and reappointed council members begin their three-year terms on August 11. Council members are appointed to both obligatory seats, which are specific to a state, and atlarge seats which can be filled by a person from any of the states in the council's region. Council members may be reappointed to serve three consecutive three-year terms.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

John F. Quinn (Massachusetts)
Matthew G. McKenzie (Connecticut)
*David "Dave" E. Preble (Rhode Island)
Terry A. Alexander (Maine)

At-large seat: Vincent M. Balzano (Maine)

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for New Jersey and Virginia and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

*Christopher J. Zeman (New Jersey) Jeffrey Deem (Virginia)

At-large seats:

Anthony "Tony" D. Dilernia (New York)
*Preston "Pres" P. Pate (North Carolina)

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for Florida and Georgia and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

*Benjamin "Ben" Hartig III (Florida) Steve "BC" A. Amick (Georgia)

At-large seats:

*Charles M. Phillips (Georgia)
Anna B. Beckwith (North Carolina)

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointees for 2012 fill an obligatory seat for the U.S. Virgin Islands and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

*Carolos F. Farchette (United States Virgin Islands)

At-large seat:

Eugenio "Geno" Pinero-Soler (Puerto Rico)

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for Alabama, Florida, and Louisiana and two atlarge seats.

Obligatory seats:

*John "Johnny" R. Greene Jr. (Alabama) Juan "John" M. Sanchez (Florida) Campo "Camp" E. Matens (Louisiana)

At-large seats:

*Harlon H. Pearce Jr. (Louisiana) William "Corky" S. Perret (Mississippi)

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for California, Oregon and tribal governments and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seats:

- *David M. Crabbe (California)
- *Dorothy Lowman (Oregon)

David B. Sones (Tribal)

At-large seats:

*William Buzz" L. Brizendine (California)

*Dale Myer (Washington)

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for both states.

Obligatory seats:

Howard D. "Dan" Hull (Alaska) Robert E. "Ed" Dersham (Alaska) Craig Cross (Washington)

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2012 fill obligatory seats for American Samoa, Guam, and Hawaii. The appointee for the obligatory seat from American Samoa will be announced at a later date.

Obligatory seats:

Michael P. Duenas (Guam) Michael K. Goto (Hawaii)

NOAA's mission is to understand and predict changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and to conserve and manage our coastal and marine resources. Join us on Facebook, Twitter and our other social media channels at http://www.noaa.gov/socialmedia/.

On the Web:

NOAA's Fisheries Service: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov

The 2011 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery

Management Councils: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg_svcs/councils.htm

^{*}Reappointment