

## MEETING OF THE OCEAN ENERGY SAFETY ADVISORY COMMITTEE Washington, D.C.

## April 18, 2011

The Ocean Energy Safety Advisory Committee is a public federal advisory committee consisting of 15 members from federal agencies, the offshore oil and gas industry and academia who will advise the Secretary of the Interior and the Director of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement (BOEMRE) on improving all aspects of ocean energy safety.

8:00 a.m. Registration

9:00 a.m. Welcome and Introduction

David J. Hayes, Deputy Secretary of the Interior

9:10 a.m. Opening Remarks and Member Introductions

Committee Chair Thomas O. Hunter, Committee Members

9:45 a.m. Session I - Findings and Recommendations of the National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling

<u>Cherry A. Murray</u> <u>Commissioner, National Commission on the BP</u>
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Deepwater Drilling

Donald C. Winter Chair of the National Academy of Engineering/National

Session II – Investigations into the Causes of the Deepwater Horizon Blowout

Research Council Committee Examining the Probable Causes

of the Deepwater Horizon Explosion

Sean C. Grimsley Deputy Chief Counsel to the National Commission on the BP

Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Deepwater Drilling

11:30 a.m. Lunch

10:30 a.m.

1:00 p.m. Remarks

Secretary of the Interior Kenneth L. Salazar

1:15 p.m. Remarks

Michael R. Bromwich, Director of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement

1:30 p.m. Session III – Lessons Learned from the Deepwater Horizon Containment and Response Efforts

<u>James Dupree</u> <u>BP Regional President, Gulf of Mexico</u>

Roy A. Nash Rear Admiral, United States Coast Guard;

Deputy Federal On-Scene Coordinator, Deepwater Horizon

Response, New Orleans, Louisiana

<u>Lars T. Herbst</u> <u>Regional Director, Gulf of Mexico Region, Bureau of Ocean</u>

**Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement** 

3:00 p.m. Break

3:10 p.m. Roundtable on Committee Activities and Next Steps

4:30 p.m. Public Comment

Mike Gravitz Oceans Advocate, Environment America

James Pappas Vice, President, Technical Programs, Research Partnership

to Secure Energy for America

5:30 p.m. Meeting Adjourns