Short History of

Hydrologic Modeling Workgroup

The Hydrologic Modeling Workgroup began its work in early 1996 in the form of a technical program committee for the First Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference of 1998. Throughout the life of the workgroup, the members have served on (and been largely interchangeable with) the planning committee for the Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conferences. The 1998 Conference Chair was Ming Tseng of the Corps of Engineers and the Operations Chair was Doug Glysson of the US Geological Survey. The technical program committee was chaired jointly by Don Woodward of NRCS and Don Frevert of the Bureau of Reclamation. Member organizations at that time included the Corps of Engineers, the US Geological Survey, NRCS, the Federal Highway Administration and the Bureau of Reclamation. The conference was held in Las Vegas, Nevada in April, 1998 and included approximately 130 technical papers and about 30 demonstrations and posters. More than 300 scientists and engineers from government, academia and private industry attended the conference.

With the successful outcome of the First Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference, the Subcommittee on Hydrology encouraged that a Second Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference be held in 2002. The Hydrologic Modeling Workgroup began to take shape at that time and held its scoping workshop in Tucson, Arizona in November, 2000. The workshop was attended by about 80 invited experts in the field of hydrologic modeling and identified a number of key topical areas for the 2002 conference. Most of these topical areas were addressed in the 2002 conference and a few others emerged in the meantime. The Second Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference was held in Las Vegas in July, 2002 and was chaired by Arlen Feldman of the Corps of Engineers. Doug Glysson of the US Geological Survey served as Operations Chair and the Technical co-chairs were George Leavesley of US Geological Survey and Don Frevert of the Bureau of Reclamation. Member organizations included the Bureau of Reclamation, the US Geological Survey, NOAA, the Corps of Engineers and the South Florida Water Management District. About 160 technical papers and 40 demonstrations and posters were presented along with five short courses. About 350 modeling experts participated.

In January, 2004, discussions began regarding a Joint Federal Interagency Conference for both Hydrologic Modeling and Sedimentation. The discussions were successful and plans were made for the Joint Federal Interagency Conference – which would include the Third Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference and the Eighth Federal Interagency Sedimentation Conference. This joint conference was held in April, 2006 in Reno, Nevada. It was chaired by Doug Glysson of the US Geological Survey and the Operations Chair was Paula Makar of the Bureau of Reclamation. Don Frevert of the Bureau of Reclamation chaired the Federal Interagency Hydrologic Modeling Conference and Jerry Bernard of the Natural Resources Conservation Service chaired the Federal Interagency Sedimentation Conference. Technical co-chairs of the Hydrologic Modeling Conference were George Leavesley and Steve Markstrom – both from the US Geological Survey. As of 2006, the workgroup's member organizations included Agricultural Research Service, Bureau of Reclamation, US Geological Survey, National

Weather Service, the South Florida Water Management District, the Corps of Engineers and American Forests. The joint conference was attended by more than 600 people and featured more than 250 technical papers along with more than 60 posters, 10 very well attended short courses and three technical field trips. Approximately half of the papers, posters and short courses were in the area of Hydrologic Modeling and the other half were in the area of Sedimentation.

In May, 2007 the Hydrologic Modeling Workgroup elected Don Frevert of the Bureau of Reclamation as chair and Steve Markstrom of the US Geological Survey as vice-chair. Both Don and Steve will serve in their present capacities through the next Joint Federal Interagency Conference – being planned for 2010. After the completion of the conference, but not later than December 31, 2010, Steve Markstrom will become chair and a new vice chair will be elected.

(Written by Don Frevert in June 2007)