Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

BOARD 0 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 4-7000

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

ANNOUNCEMENT

For Immediate Release Washington, DC June 24, 2010



On June 24, 2010, President Obama designated Ms. Jessie Hill Roberson to be Vice Chairman of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board. Ms. Roberson, of Evergreen, Alabama, has almost 30 years of experience in the nuclear field, with indepth experience in low level waste management, environmental restoration, reactor operations and project management.

Ms. Roberson has been serving as a Board Member since her confirmation by the United States Senate on March 19, 2010, for a term expiring October 18, 2013. Ms. Roberson previously served as a Board member from January 18, 2000 to July 18,

2001. Ms. Roberson then went on to serve as the Assistant Secretary of Energy for Environmental Management, Department of Energy from 2001 to 2004.

Prior to her most recent appointment to the Board, Ms. Roberson was the Senior Vice President of Environmental Affairs for the Atlantic Sea Island Group. After leaving DOE in 2004, Ms. Roberson served as Director of Nuclear Regulatory Programs for the Exelon Corporation, President of the Professional Nuclear Services Division for CH2MHill.

Ms. Roberson earned a B.S. degree in Nuclear Engineering from the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.