DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Peter S. Winokur, Chairman John E. Mansfield, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown Jessie H. Roberson

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



ANNOUNCEMENT

For Immediate Release Washington, DC

March 31, 2010



On March 19, 2010, President Obama appointed Dr. Peter S. Winokur as Chairman of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board). He had recently been confirmed by the Senate for a second five-year term as a Board member, that term expiring on October 18, 2014. Dr. Winokur becomes the third Chairman in the history of the Board, following Mr. John T. Conway (1989 – 2005) and Dr. A.J. Eggenberger (2005 – 2009).

Dr. Winokur brings to the Board more than 40 years of experience as a scientist and engineer in the field of radiation effects science, technology, and hardness assurance in support of military and space systems. A Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and the American Physical Society, he was selected as one of the most highly cited researchers in Engineering by the Institute for Scientific Information, which lists the 250 most highly cited researchers in the world in given scientific fields.

Dr. Winokur has won numerous awards including the 2000 IEEE Millennium Medal, IEEE Nuclear & Plasma Sciences Merit and Shea Awards, R&D 100 Award, Industry Week's Top 25 Technologies of Year, Discover Award, Cooper Union's Gano Dunn Award, and prize-winning papers. He is the author of 140 publications in the open referred literature, including more than 30 invited papers, book chapters, and short courses. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Maryland in 1974.