Dedicated to Outstanding Customer Service for a Better Community

SERVICE SOLUTIONS SUCCESS

Press Release

National Lights On Afterschool Program Celebration

Open House to take place at After School locations

The National Lights on Afterschool Program Celebration will be on October 22, 2009 at each the after school sites by the City of El Paso Parks and Recreation Department as each site will celebrate with an Open House.

The National Lights on Celebration is in the 10th year of existence as a way to highlight the many business and civic partners and volunteers around the country that make this program a success. On the local level Afterschool programs keep children safe, help working families and also inspire learning.

The El Paso Parks and Recreation Department administers afterschool programs at the following public schools in the city, Ascarate, Constance Hulbert, Thomas Manor, Beall, Burleson, Cooley, Dowell, Houston, Newman, Roberts, Rusk, Stanton and Vilas.

Recreation centers also offering the afterschool programs are Armijo, Carolina, Chihuahuita, Galatzan, Marty Robbins, Leona Ford Washington, Gary Del Palacio, Nolan Richardson, Pavo Real, Rae Gilmore, Seville, San Juan, Veterans and Westside Centers.

All of the schools will have an open house from 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and the spotlight school will be Ascarate Elementary School, 7090 Alameda St., with the ceremony at 5:00 p.m.

"The Braden Aboud Memorial Foundation has been a tremendous supporter of the After School Program for the last two years," according to Julie Belcher, program coordinator.

Braden Aboud a popular student at Lincoln Middle School passed away in January of 2007 and his family created the Braden Aboud Foundation shortly thereafter. The foundation has donated monies to many civic causes in the community. Cindy and Gary Aboud, parents of Braden will be on hand for a special presentation in honor of the Braden Aboud Foundation.

City Council Representative Emma Acosta will be guest speaker.

For more information call (915) 541-4826.





Mayor John F. Cook

City Council

District 1 Ann Morgan Lilly

District 2 Susie Byrd

District 3 Emma Acosta

District 4 Carl L. Robinson

District 5 Rachel Quintana

District 6 Eddie Holguin Jr.

District 7 Steve Ortega

District 8 Beto O'Rourke

City Manager Joyce A. Wilson