# **Legislative Committee - Texas Judicial Council**

# Members and Process for 81<sup>st</sup> Legislature

## **Members of Committee**

Hon. Linda Thomas, Chair

Hon. Kelly Moore

Hon. F. Alfonso Charles

Hon. Polly Spencer

Hon. Monica A. Gonzalez

#### **Timeline**

THICHIC		
March 7, 2008	Legislative Committee initial meeting	
March 2008	Formation of Workgroups	
March-August	Workgroups meet and develop proposals	
May 23, 2008	Legislative Committee met to review	
	workgroups' progress	
August 7 <sup>th</sup> , 2008	Legislative Committee meets to consider	
	proposals	
Late September or October	Legislative Committee meets to finalize	
	proposals for recommendation to Texas Judicial	
	Council	
Late September or October	Texas Judicial Council meets to consider and	
	ratify proposals	

### **Workgroups**

Topic Area	Members & Collaborators	Staff Support
Appellate Courts and Judicial	Hon. Linda Thomas	Margaret Bennett
Compensation		Glenna Bowman
		Alice McAfee
		Mena Ramon
Emergency Preparedness	Hon. Kelly Moore	Mena Ramon
Civil and Family Law	Hon. Alfonso Charles	Tina Amberboy
	Hon. Linda Thomas	Bryan Wilson
		Tiffany Roper
Criminal Law and Indigent Defense	Hon. Alfonso Charles	Wesley Shackelford

Justice and Municipal Courts	Hon. Monica A. Gonzalez Hon. Russell B. Casey Hon. Beatriz Q. Gonzalez Hon. Glenn D. Phillips	Ted Wood
Judicial Administration/OCA		Ted Wood
Information Technology	Judicial Committee on Information Technology	Bruce Hermes
Process Servers	Process Server Review Board	Katie Bond Glenna Bowman Jody Hughes Meredith Musick
Court Reporters	Court Reporter Certification Board	Michele Henricks
Guardians	Hon. Polly Spencer Guardianship Certification Bd.	Lesley Ondrechen
Judicial Conduct	Hon. Monica A Gonzalez Hon. Polly Spencer Hon. Kelly Moore Seana Willing	Margaret Bennett
Mental Health/Probate	Hon. Polly Spencer	Ted Wood Jim Bethke Bruce Hermes
Court Cost Collections/Fees	Hon. Linda Thomas	Ted Wood Jim Lehman Glenna Bowman
Associate Judges/Specialty Courts	Hon. Kelly Moore	Mena Ramon Frankie Teel
New Courts/Weighted Caseload Study	Hon. Orlinda Naranjo	Mary Cowherd Andy Barbee Mena Ramon
Judicial Administration/Court Clerks/ Juries/Access to Justice/SBOT Court Administration Task Force/Court Security	Hon. Linda Thomas Hon. Alfonso Charles	Ted Wood Mary Cowherd Carl Reynolds Alice McAfee