DFC 1 2 2008

JUVENILE JUDGES

MARSHAL BENNETT Fisher County

> RAY MAYO Mitchell County

GARY HARGER Nolan County



## Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Department

SWEETWATER, TEXAS 79556

## GERALD JENSCHKE CHIEF JUVENILE OFFICER

OFFICES IN:

FISHER COUNTY P. O. Box 237 Roby, Tx. 79543

MITCHELL COUNTY 349 Oak Colorado City, Tx. 79512

NOLAN COUNTY 100 East 3rd - Suite 301 A Sweetwater, Tx. 79556

## JUVENILE BOARD RESOLUTION

**BE IT REMEMBERED** at a called meeting of the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board on the 11<sup>th</sup> day of December, 2008 on a motion made by Teddy Kral and seconded by Kerry Birdwell the following Resolution was adopted:

*WHEREAS*, the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission was created in 1981 and the purposes of the agency according to Chapter 141 of the Texas Human Resources Code are to:

- > Make probation services available to juveniles throughout the state;
- > Improve the effectiveness of juvenile probation services;
- Provide alternatives to the commitment of juveniles by providing financial aid to juvenile boards to establish and improve probation services;
- > Establish uniform standards for the community-based juvenile justice system;
- Improve communications among state and local entities within the juvenile justice system; and
- Promote delinquency prevention and early intervention programs and activities for juveniles; and

*WHEREAS*, the Sunset Commission staff completed their analysis of the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission and released their staff report on November 11, 2008; and

*WHEREAS*, the Sunset Report is replete with findings of inadequacies of the Texas Youth Commission, while acknowledging numerous areas that the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission has been successful and citing problems mainly in the area of collaboration with Texas Youth Commission; and

*WHEREAS*, the Sunset Staff Report makes the recommendation to abolish the Texas Youth Commission and the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission and transfer their functions to a newly created Texas Juvenile Justice Department; and

*WHEREAS*, the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board realizes that the absorption of the Texas Adult Probation Commission into the huge bureaucracy of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice has not increased the effectiveness of local adult probation

departments and has decreased the responsiveness of the State to the local adult probation departments; and

*WHEREAS*, the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board provides a full range of local services for juvenile offenders and receives only **52%** of it's funding from the State of Texas and oversees a juvenile department which commits only **1.5%** of the referrals it receives to the Texas Youth Commission; and

*WHEREAS*, the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board believes any savings to the State outlined in the Sunset Staff Report could be realized through effective leadership at the Texas Youth Commission; and

*WHEREAS*, the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board believes that the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission effectively and efficiently fulfills the mandates of their assigned mission and understands the importance and value of local control; now

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that the Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board strongly opposes the recommendation of the Sunset Commission staff targeting the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission for elimination and aggressively supports the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission remaining a separate agency with oversight and in partnership with the one hundred sixty-six juvenile probation departments in Texas.

## Adopted this 11<sup>th</sup> day of December, 2008

The Honorable Ray Mayo Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board Chairman Judge, Mitchell County Court

On behalf of Fisher, Mitchell and Nolan Counties Juvenile Board members:

The Honorable Ray Mayo 47<sup>th</sup> District Court Judge

The Honorable Gary Harger 181<sup>st</sup> District Court Judge

Lisa Peterson Nolan County Attorney

Elsie Pierce Nolan County Representative Kerry Birdwell Sweetwater ISD Representative

Jeanie Fuller Mitchell County Representative

Teddy Kral Fisher County representative