Governor Perry Names Bailes Presiding Officer, Appoints New Members of the Board

Governor Rick Perry has named **Greg Bailes**, CPA, of Bee Cave, presiding officer of the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy. In addition, he reappointed **James C. Flagg**, PhD, CPA, of College Station, a member of the Board since 1995, to a full six-year term. His other new appointees are **Everett R. (Ray) Ferguson**, CPA, Abilene; **Jon R. Keeney**, Taylor Lake Village; **Maribess L. Miller**, CPA, Dallas; and **Thomas G. Prothro**, CPA, Tyler.

Mr. Bailes practiced public accountancy for 27 years and served as both the technology practice leader and audit leader for the Austin office of Deloitte & Touche. He earlier practiced in Seattle for another Big Four firm. A graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, he is a former executive vice president and treasurer of the World Congress on Information Technology and a member of AICPA, TSCPA, and the UT McCombs School of Business Accounting Advisory Council. His committee work has included chairing the Board's Rules Committee.

Dr. Flagg, an associate professor in the Mays Business School, Texas A&M University, chairs the Board's Qualifications Committee. A graduate of Eckerd College and Texas A&M, Dr. Flagg is a member of AICPA's Board of Examiners and of TSCPA. Before earning his doctorate, Dr. Flagg practiced nine years with Coopers & Lybrand, LLP, including five years as senior audit manager in the Houston and other offices. He is also a past chair of the American Accounting Association's Minority Faculty Development Committee.

Ray Ferguson of Abilene is a partner at Condley and Co., LLP, a firm he joined in 1981. He also has been a board member of the West Central Texas Municipal Water District and Abilene Regional Medical Center's Institutional Review. A graduate of Abilene Christian University, Mr. Ferguson is a former chair of Leadership Abilene, a former city councilman, and a volunteer with Zambia Medical Mission. His professional memberships include AICPA, TSCPA, and the Abilene chapter of TSCPA. He replaces Orville Mills of Sugar Land on the Board.

Jon Keeney is vice president of consulting for CSQ3. He holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee and master's from the University of Houston, and is president of the Interfaith Caring Ministries Board of Directors and board member of Gloria Dei Lutheran Church and the Lutheran Endowment Fund. Mr. Keeney is active in various civic endeavors. He replaces John Walton of Dallas.

Maribess Miller is a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. A graduate of Texas Christian University, Ms. Miller is a member of AICPA and TSCPA. Her civic involvement includes board memberships in the Dallas Citizen Council, Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce, and the Texas Health Institute, whose board she chaired. She is also a board member of the Dallas chapter of the International Women's Forum, the Executive Committee, Dallas Center for the Performing Arts; and Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

Thomas G. Prothro, CPA, of Tyler, is president of Prothro, Wilhelmi, and Co., PLLC, Certified Public Accountants. In addition to memberships in AICPA, TSCPA, and the

East Texas chapter of TSCPA, Mr. Prothro is past president of the Rose City Kiwanis and a member of the Development Board of the University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler, City of Tyler Tax Abatement Committee, and Leadership Tyler. He is a UT Austin graduate. Mr. Prothro replaces Joe Richardson of Houston.

Terms for these new appointees will expire January 31, 2015.