

## State of Arizona

Janice K. Brewer Governor Office of the Governor 1700 West Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 15, 2009

CONTACT: David Drennon or Nolberto Machiche (602) 771-1163

Main Phone: 602-542-4331

Facsimile: 602-542-7601

CONTACT: Tasya Peterson (602) 542-7029 tpeterson@az.gov

## Funding Now Available for Rural Arizona Energy Efficiency & Conservation Projects

\$9.5 Million Will Help Communities Reduce Utility Bills

PHOENIX – Governor Jan Brewer today announced the first commitment of funds associated with Arizona's Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) Program under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 for rural Arizona. More than \$9.5 million will be available to five Arizona counties and 68 communities, with a population of 35,000 or less, to develop and implement projects aimed at improving energy efficiency and reducing energy use in their communities.

"This is a significant opportunity to positively impact the economies of rural Arizona's communities for years to come," said Governor Jan Brewer. "The potential projects under the EECBG program will create a number of local jobs in areas hardest hit in the current recession, while also helping local governments reduce utility costs."

Under Arizona's program, administered by the Arizona Department of Commerce, the ARRA funds will finance a variety of EECBG projects, such as building audits, retrofits and installation of energy-saving devices and equipment. Other activity may include putting in place energy efficient traffic signals, street lighting and renewable energy technologies for government buildings.

"Reduced energy costs translate into things that matter like an extra police officer on the street or new computers that allow people to do their job more efficiently," said Jim Arwood, Director of the Arizona Department of Commerce Energy Office. "The savings will not only benefit communities, it will lessen the impact on taxpayers as well."

Eligible cities, towns and counties are: Apache Junction; Benson; Bisbee; Buckeye; Camp Verde; Carefree; Cave Creek; Chino Valley; Clarkdale; Clifton; Colorado City; Coolidge; Cottonwood;

Dewey-Humboldt; Douglas; Duncan; Eagar; El Mirage; Eloy; Florence; Fountain Hills; Fredonia; Gila Bend; Gila County; Globe; Graham County; Greenlee County; Guadalupe; Hayden; Holbrook; Huachucha City; Jerome; Kearny; Kingman; La Paz County; Litchfield Park; Mammoth; Marana; Miami; Nogales; Page; Paradise Valley; Parker; Patagonia; Payson; Pima; Pinetop-Lakeside; Quartzsite; Queen Creek; Safford; Sahuarita; San Luis; Santa Cruz County; Sedona; Show Low; Snowflake; Somerton; South Tucson; Springerville; St. Johns; Star Valley; Superior; Taylor; Thatcher; Tolleson; Tombstone; Wellton; Wickenburg; Willcox; Williams; Winkelman; Winslow; and Youngtown.

To learn more about the EECBG Program or for eligible entities to request Letters of Intent, visit www.azcommerce.com/Energy/EECBG.

####