2010 FLC AWARDS OVERVIEW

About the 2010 FLC Awards

The FLC Awards Program annually recognizes federal laboratories and their industry partners for outstanding technology transfer efforts. Since its establishment in 1984 the FLC has presented awards to nearly 200 federal laboratories, becoming one of the most prestigious honors in technology transfer.

In 2010 the FLC will present awards in the following categories:

- Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer recognizes recognizes science and technology employees in FLC laboratories who have accomplished outstanding work in the process of transferring federally developed technology.
- Laboratory Director of the Year Award honors directors of FLC laboratories who have made maximum contributions to support technology transfer activities in their organizations.
- **FLC Service Award** recognizes significant contributions to the Consortium. Awards are presented in three categories:
 - Harold Metcalf Award for an FLC laboratory employee who has provided sustained significant service to the FLC as an organization.
 - Representative of the Year Award for an individual FLC
 Representative who has made the most significant contribution to the FLC
 program in the past year.
 - Outstanding Service Award for an individual who is not an FLC Representative or Alternate for a notable contribution to the FLC in terms of sustained support and/or service.
- Interagency Partnership Award recognizes agency and/or laboratory employees from at least two different agencies who have collaboratively accomplished outstanding work in transferring a technology.
- Outstanding Technology Transfer Professional Award recognizes the
 efforts of a technology transfer professional (or team) who has demonstrated
 outstanding work in transferring a technology. Those who are involved thoroughly
 with the technology transfer process but are not recognized by the FLC Award for
 Excellence in Technology Transfer—including Technology Transfer Program
 Managers, Office of Research and Technology Application (ORTA)
 Representatives, and Commercialization Managers—are considered for this
 award.

2010 FLC Awards – Important Dates

Deadlines

Nominations in all categories (except Laboratory Director of the Year Award) must be electronically submitted by 8:00 p.m. EDT (5:00 p.m. PDT) on Thursday, October 15, 2009 to Michele Chambers at the FLC Management Support Office at mchambers@utrs.com. No nominations will be accepted after this time. You will receive a confirmation e-mail upon receipt of your nomination.

Additional information on the 2010 FLC Laboratory Director of the Year will be announced at a later date.

Announcement of winners

2010 FLC Award winners will be announced on the following dates (subject to change):

December 7, 2009

FLC Service Awards

December 8, 2009

Outstanding Technology Transfer Professional Award

December 9, 2009

Interagency Partnership Award

January 19, 2010

Awards for Excellence in Technology Transfer

To Be Announced

Laboratory Director of the Year Award

Additional Information

For additional information on the FLC Awards Program contact Michele Chambers at the FLC Management Support Office at (856) 667-7727 x135, mchambers@utrs.com.