PrintGuides & Handbooks
OPIC publications with this icon may be viewed in "PDF" or Portable Document Format using the freely available Adobe Acrobat Reader.
To obtain original hard copies of any of these documents, please contact OPIC.
Development
Development Update
Outlines the measurable development criteria OPIC uses to evaluate the development contribution of individual projects, the role of foreign direct investment in development, the concept of additionality, and more.
July 2003. PDF
Development Report
A report highlighting OPIC's measurement tool which includes a comprehensive scoring matrix that weights each developmental indicator according to its importance in contributing to the economic and social welfare of the host country. PDF
Insurance
'Quick Cover' Insurance:
An overview of an exciting product- Quick Cover- which allows certain projects in the financial services, wireless telecommunications services, electricity distribution, hotel sectors and bid bonds to receive political risk insurance coverage on an expedited basis. PDF
Insurance Program for Contractors & Exporters:
Describes the variety of coverages available from OPIC to U.S. companies acting as contractors in international construction, sales or service contracts and U.S. exporters of heavy machinery, turbines, computers, medical equipment and other goods. PDF
Ten Tips for the Investor Seeking OPIC Insurance
Advice on what to do before applying for OPIC political risk insurance. VIEW
Ten Tips in Portuguese for Africa and Brazil
Private and Official Sources of Political Risk Coverage
A brief discussion on the relative advantages and limitations of public and private sources of political risk insurance. VIEW
Stand-Alone Terrorism Insurance:
An overview of a new insurance coverage available from OPIC that provides asset coverage for the loss of or damage to tangible property caused by terrorism. PDF
Housing
Housing Transaction Templates
The following sample terms of reference are intended to be used as an illustrative example to potential applicants seeking OPIC financing for housing projects.
- Housing Construction Loan
- OPIC Wrap of Senior Mortgage-Backed Notes
- Employer Assisted/Lease Purchase Program
- Mortgage Finance–SPV Structure
Morocco Housing Market: Industry Status, Government Involvement and Investment Opportunity
An OPIC Issues Paper Series report that examines the macroeconomic impact of housing improvement in Morocco, the general market situation, government prioritization, finance, and sectors with investment opportunities. PDF
Housing
Highlights OPIC's Housing and Mortgage Finance Program. PDF
Egypt: Overview of the Housing Sector
The first of an OPIC Issues Paper Series. Examines mortgage lending, financing options, the legal infrastructure, opportunities for foreign investment, and more. PDF
OPIC Supports Housing and Mortgage Finance:
Historically, OPIC has provided more than $1.6 billion in finance and insurance to support housing and mortgage finance projects in countries around the world. OPIC’s current investments portfolio provides more than $800 million to projects that introduce more efficient building systems and large-scale housing and community development processes into markets where the shortage of housing is critical. PDF
Other
Partners Program
OPIC’s Partners Program is a public diplomacy initiative dedicated to expanding knowledge of OPIC and its mission. The goal of the program is to work with key organizations throughout the U.S. to create a greater understanding of OPIC’s programs and activities. PDF
Investment Funds
Highlights the OPIC Investment Funds Program, and the benefits the OPIC-sponsored funds are having on developing economies by fostering the development of capital, while also bringing to the countries in which they invest modern business practices, improved corporate governance, and best practices for the environment and worker rights. PDF
Environment
A description of OPIC's long-standing commitment to the environment. PDF
OPIC - Making a Difference
A brief overview of OPIC's mission, products and services.
OPIC - For Small Business
A description of OPIC's Small Business Financing, Political Risk Insurance Coverage, and Small Business Center. PDF
OPIC Anti-Corruption Handbook
Provides OPIC sponsors and others with a comprehensive approach to fight corruption.
OPIC supports U.S. investment in emerging markets worldwide, fostering development & the growth of free markets.