Illinois Department of Revenue Informational Bulletin

Brian Hamer Director of Revenue

Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax Rate Changes Effective January 1, 2009

For information . . .

Visit our web site — tax.illinois.gov

Call us -

1 800 732-8866 or 1 217 782-3336 1 800 544-5304 (TDD only)

Write us -

Illinois Department of Revenue P.O. Box 19044 Springfield, IL 62794-9044

For forms . . .

Visit our web site — tax.illinois.gov

Call our Forms Order Line —

1 800 356-6302

This bulletin is written to inform you of recent changes; it does not replace statutes, rules and regulations, or court decisions. Effective **January 1, 2009**, the municipalities listed below will increase their locally imposed simplified municipal telecommunications tax rate. The combined rates below are the statewide rate (7 percent (.07)) **plus** the municipal rate imposed at the local level.

For a complete listing of statewide telecommunications tax rates, see the tax rate finder on our web site at tax.illinois.gov.

Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax Rate Changes			
Municipalities	Combined Rate as of December 31, 2008	Local rate Increase	Combined rate as of January 1, 2009
Bridgeview	8.00%	5.00%	13.00%
Gifford	7.00%	6.00%	13.00%
Ivesdale	7.00%	5.00%	12.00%
Lansing	11.00%	2.00%	13.00%
Lena	7.00%	2.00%	9.00%
Marquette Heights	11.50%	1.50%	13.00%
Mount Vernon	8.00%	1.00%	9.00%
Oak Brook	12.00%	1.00%	13.00%
Scales Mound	7.00%	6.00%	13.00%
South Beloit	8.00%	5.00%	13.00%
Summit	12.00%	1.00%	13.00%
Windsor (New Windsor)	10.25%	0.25%	10.50%