FY 2009-09 April 2009



Illinois Department of Revenue Informational Bulletin

Brian Hamer Director of Revenue

Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax Rate Changes Effective July 1, 2009

For information ...

Visit our web site —

tax.illinois.gov

Call us -

1 800 732-8866 or 1 217 782-3336 1 800 544-5304 (TDD only)

Write us —

Illinois Department of Revenue P.O. Box 19044 Springfield, IL 62794-9044

For forms ...

Visit our web site -

tax.illinois.gov

Call our Forms Order Line —

1 800 356-6302

This bulletin is written to inform you of recent changes; it does not replace statutes, rules and regulations, or court decisions. Effective **July 1, 2009**, the municipalities listed below are either imposing a simplified municipal telecommunications tax or increasing their simplified municipal telecommunications tax rate. The combined rates below are the statewide rate of 7.00 percent (.07) **plus** the municipal rate imposed at the local level. For a complete listing of statewide telecommunications tax rates, see the Tax Rate Finder on our web site at **tax.illinois.gov.**

Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax Rate Changes			
Municipalities	Combined rate as of June 30, 2009	Local rate Increase	Combined rate as of July 1, 2009
Barrington	10.50%	2.50%	13.00%
Cleveland	7.00%	6.00%	13.00%
DuQuoin	8.00%	5.00%	13.00%
Farmington (Fulton County)	10.00%	2.00%	12.00%
Farmington (Peoria County)	10.00%	2.00%	12.00%
Gilberts	11.50%	1.50%	13.00%
Hinsdale	12.00%	1.00%	13.00%
North Aurora	9.50%	1.50%	11.00%
Rushville	7.00%	6.00%	13.00%
Springfield	8.00%	3.00%	11.00%
Steelville	12.25%	0.75%	13.00%