NEWS from the North Dakota Department of Human Services 600 E Boulevard Ave, Bismarck ND 58505-0250

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 15, 2009

Contacts: Candace Fuglesten, Director of South Central Human Service Center, or Russ Sunderland, Assistant Director of South Central Human Service Center, 701-253-6300; or Heather Steffl, Public Information Officer, 701-328-4933 or 701-527-7445

South Central Human Service Center in Jamestown to Close Temporarily Due to Dike Construction and Flooding Concerns

BISMARCK, ND – The North Dakota Department of Human Services announced that its South Central Human Service Center located in Jamestown will be closed temporarily beginning today, April 15, 2009, at 1 p.m. due to the construction of a dike. Department employees are contacting consumers to reschedule appointments, and the center is exploring options for temporarily relocating services to another site.

The center, which is located at 520 3rd St. NW, on the banks of the James River, provides community-based mental health and substance abuse treatment services, case management for people with developmental disabilities, adult protective services, and vocational rehabilitation services. Staff also provide oversight and technical assistance of county administered child protection and child care licensing services, as well as economic assistance program eligibility services.

Individuals in crisis can still reach staff by calling the Crisis Line at 701-253-6304 or toll free 1-800-260-1310.

South Central Human Service Center Director Candace Fuglesten said, "We are finalizing plans to resume services at another location as quickly as possible, and will notify the community and consumers when those details become available."

Fuglesten said consumers can call the human service center's regular phone number at 701-253-6300 (TTY 701-253-6414) later this week to hear a message identifying the new temporary location.

The South Central Human Service Center serves a nine-county area that includes Barnes, Dickey, Foster, Griggs, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, Stutsman, and Wells counties, and the cities of Jamestown and Valley City.