Utah Military Records: Wars and Conflicts
Military service and discharge records are federal records found generally at the National Archives and Military Personnel Records Center. The Utah State Archives holds a large collection of military records that includes original territorial militia and later National Guard records, compiled service cards, burial data, and copies of discharges.
This bibliography, arranged by conflict or subject, provides the record series titles and numbers. These series are in many cases linked with a finding aid or series inventory describing the contents and arrangement and suggesting how to best use the series.
Indian Wars & Utah Militia (Nauvoo Legion) |
|
| State Archives. Territorial Militia Records, 1849-1877, 1905-[1917] | Series 2210 |
| State Archives. Territorial Militia Service Cards, 1850-1880 | Series 6195 |
| Commissioner of Indian War Records. Militia Name List, 1909-1918 | Series 6330 |
| Commissioner of Indian War Records. Indian Wars Service Affidavits, 1909-1919 | Series 2217 |
| Secretary of State. Indian War Veteran Medal Records, 1905-1940 | Series 2220 |
| Secretary of the Territory. Territorial Executive Papers, 1850-1896 | Series 241 |
| Board of Examiners. Indian War Veterans' Fund Records, 1918-1928 | Series 323 |
Civil War, 1861-1865 |
|
| No records at Utah State Archives | |
Spanish-American War, 1898 |
|
| State Archives. Spanish American War Service Cards, 1898-1899 | Series 10318 |
| State Archives. Spanish American War and Philippine Insurrection Service Cards, 1898-1902 | Series 24048 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 | Series 85268 |
| National Guard. Spanish American War and Philippine Insurrection Muster Rolls, 1898-1899 | Series 10320 |
| Governor (1896-1905 : Wells). Spanish American War Scrapbook, 1898-1899 | Series 84193 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
Phillipine Insurrection, 1899-1902 |
|
| National Guard. Spanish American War and Philippine Insurrection Muster Rolls, 1898-1899 | Series 10320 |
| State Archives. Spanish American War and Philippine Insurrection Service Cards, 1898-1902 | Series 24048 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 (few records) | Series 85268 |
Mexican Border Campaign, 1916-1917 |
|
| State Archives. Mexican Border Campaign Service Cards, 1916-1917 | Series 6131 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 | Series 85268 |
| National Guard. Mexican Border Campaign Records, 1916-1917 | Series 6305 |
| National Guard. Mexican Border Campaign Muster Rolls, 1916-1917 | Series 10319 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
World War I, 1917-1918 |
|
| State Archives. World War I Service Records, 1914-1925 | Series 2793 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 | Series 85268 |
| State Historical Society. World War I Service Questionnaires, 1914-1918 [sample] | Series 85298 |
| State Archives. Military Separation Forms and Benefit Records, 1917-1979 | Series 2794 |
| State Historical Society. World War I Records, 1917-1923 | Series 6307 |
| State Archives. World War I Draft Board Registers, 1917-1918 | Series 2229 |
| State Historical Society. World War Military Listings, 1917-1951. | Series 19959 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
| National Guard. 145th Field Artillery Scrapbook, 1917-1918 | Series 10339 |
Labor Strikes |
|
| National Guard. Carbon County Coal Strike Records, 1903-1904; 1909 | Series 6306 |
| National Guard. Carbon County Firearms Confiscation Correspondence, 1922-1931 | Series 10113 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
| National Guard. Biennial Reports, 1896-1956 | Series 10347 |
| Secretary of State. Public Document Serial Set, 1896-1956 | Series 240 |
World War II, 1941-1945 |
|
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 | Series 85268 |
| State Archives. Military Separation Forms and Benefit Records, 1917-1979 | Series 2794 |
| State Historical Society. Selective Service Cards, 1940-1957 | Series 85289 |
| State Archives. Veterans' Educational Benefits Records, 1944-1964 | Series 2789 |
| State Historical Society. World War Military Listings, 1917-1951. | Series 19959 |
| National Guard. World War II Records, 1941-1945 | Series 10327 |
| State Archives. Military Death Certificates, 1941-1953 (servicemen who died overseas) | Series 3769 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
Korean War, 1950-1953 |
|
| State Archives. Military Separation Forms and Benefit Records, 1917-1979 | Series 2794 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 (few records) | Series 85268 |
| State Historical Society. Korean War Scrapbooks, 1950-1954 | Series 10342 |
| National Guard. Korean Conflict Index, 1950-1954 | Series 6109 |
| State Archives. Veterans' Educational Benefits Records, 1944-1964 | Series 2789 |
| State Historical Society. World War Military Listings, 1917-1951. | Series 19959 |
| State Archives. Military Death Certificates, 1941-1953 (servicemen who died overseas) | Series 3769 |
Vietnam War, 1964-1972 |
|
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 (few records) | Series 85268 |
Persian Gulf Conflict, 1990-1991 |
|
| No records at Utah State Archives | |
Peacetime |
|
| State Historical Society. Selective Service Cards, 1940-1957 | Series 85289 |
| State Archives. Veterans' Educational Benefits Records, 1944-1964 | Series 2789 |
| State Archives. Military Separation Forms and Benefit Records, 1917-1979 | Series 2794 |
| State Archives. Military Service Cards, 1898-1975 (few records) | Series 85268 |
| Office of Veterans' Affairs. Veterans' Case Files, 1973-1979 | Series 2255 |
| National Guard. Adjutant General's Records, 1895-1965 | Series 6308 |
| Secretary of State. Public Document Serial Set, 1896-1956 | Series 240 |
| National Guard. Duty Performed Reports, 1926-1941; 1947-1950 | Series 6347 |
| National Guard. Biennial Reports, 1896-1956 | Series 10347 |
| Office of Veterans' Affairs. Discharged Veterans List, 1976-1979 | Series 10343 |
Burial Listings |
|
| State Archives. Veterans' Burial Locations Cards and Forms, ca. 1950-1990 | Series 5339 |
| State Archives. Veterans' Burial Location Data, [territorial]-1986 | Series 8490 |
| State Archives. Veterans with Federal Service Buried in the State of Utah Report, 1965- | Series 1560 |
This page was last updated February 13, 2004.