Utah Military Discharge and Benefit Records
Military service and discharge records are federal records. The Utah State Archives has copies of discharge records (form DD-214) and educational benefit records for World War II veterans and some Korean War veterans. Photocopies of discharges can be made and mailed to you.
Others should contact the Military Personnel Records Center. Veterans who were discharged since 1979 should contact the Utah State Office of Veterans Affairs. The following record series are available at the Utah State Archives:
State Archives. Military Separation Forms and Benefit Records, 1917–1979 (Series 2794) .
- Most of the records document military service during World War II, but there are also some records from World War I and the Korean War.
Office of Veterans' Affairs. Veterans' Case Files, 1973-1979 (Series 2255).
- These case files contain information filed to obtain educational benefits, discharge upgrades, death benefits, loan guarantees, medical benefits. Copies of discharge papers for some veterans who sought benefits for military service in the 1970s may be filed in this series.
County Recorder Military Discharge Records
Many Utah veterans have had their United States military discharges recorded by their local county recorder. As Utah veterans presented their military discharges, county recorders organized them in books kept for that purpose, or in the county's official records. The most recent records and computerized indexes to them (such as for Salt Lake county, 1981 to present) are only available at county recorders' offices. However, the Utah State Archives holds microfilmed copies of many earlier discharges recorded by county recorders. Since many discharges were recorded well after the actual date of separation, beginning dates in a series do not reflect the earliest date of discharge. The Utah State Archives has the following microfilmed:
|
County |
Date |
Series |
|---|---|---|
| Box Elder |
1944 - 1952
|
|
| Carbon |
1944 - 1958
|
|
| Duchesne |
1945 - 1994
|
|
| Emery |
1923 - 1952
|
|
| Iron |
1921 - 1964
|
|
| Juab |
1944 - 1947
|
|
| Kane |
1945 - 1994
|
|
| Millard |
1944 - 1960
|
|
| Morgan |
1943 - 1951
|
|
| San Juan |
1944 - 1948
|
|
| Sanpete |
1944 - 1964
|
|
| Sevier |
1942 - 1970
|
|
| Uintah |
1944 - 1992
|
|
| Utah |
1924 - 1971
|
|
| Wasatch |
1919 - 1954
|
|
| Wayne |
1945 - 1974
|
|
| Washington |
1923 - 1966
|
Related Files
The following military records often give discharge information such as the date and type of discharge and sometimes the muster out location:
- State Archives and Records Service. Military Service Cards, ca. 1898-1975 (Series 85268).
- State Archives and Records Service. Spanish American War Service Cards, 1898-1899 (Series 10318).
- State Archives and Records Service. Spanish American War and Philippine Insurrection Service Cards, 1898-1902 (Series 24048).
- State Historical Society. World War I Service Questionnaires, 1914-1918 (Series 85298).
- State Archives and Records Service. World War I Service Records, 1914 - 1925 (Series 2793).
- State Archives and Records Service. Mexican Border Campaign Service Cards, 1916-1917 (Series 6131).
- Board of Examiners. Indian War Veterans'
Fund Records, 1918-1928 (Series
323).
- State Historical Society. Selective Service Cards, 1940–1957 (Series 85289).
- State Archives and Records Service. Veterans' Educational Benefits Records, 1944-1964. (Series 2789).
- Office of Veterans' Affairs. Discharged Veterans List, 1976-1979 (Series 10343).
- State Archives and Records Service. Veteran Burial Location Data, 1986 (Series 8490).
This page was last updated February 25, 2004.