Medical Student Resources
COMLEX and USMLE Board Review
Drug Information
Evidence-Based Medicine
History / Physical
Laboratory Tests and Values
Medical Reference
Patient Education
Practice Guidelines
Professional Resources
Research Assistance
Tools You Can Use
Drug Information
http://www.iscribe.com/
Palm and web-based tool that enables users to perform a formulary search, check for drug interactions, and review treatment guidelines. The patient education section includes drug monographs and pictures.
http://hopkins-abxguide.org/download_center/download_center.cfm
Diagnosis and treatment information about infectious diseases. Searchable by diagnosis, pathogen or antiobiotic. Available on the web as well as for handheld devices.
One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection of 40 medical textbooks organized by specialty. Click on the "Drugs" tab to access drug information including indications, contraindications, and adverse reactions.
Login/password required.
http://www.prescribingreference.com/
This online tools allows users to search 3000 drug monographs by brand name, generic name, manufacturer, or therapeutic categories. Drug news is also available as well as prescribing notes and clinical charts.
- Natural Standard
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.naturalstandard.com
Natural Standard is a database offering reports from an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.
herbs, supplements, vitamins, minerals, diets, nutrition and exercises.
- Prescription Drug Trends Update, Kaiser Family Foundaiton
http://www.kff.org/rxdrugs/3057.cfm
A leader in health policy and communications, the Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health. The Prescription Drug Trends Update
provides trend data for prescription drug coverage, expenditures, and the key factors that contribute to rising prescription spending.
- US Food and Drug Administration Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
http://www.fda.gov/cder/
The CDER's mission is to promote and protect public health by assuring that safe and effective drugs are available to Americans. Their website provides information on new prescription drug approvals, over the counter drug information, drug safety and side effects, clinical trials, public health alerts, reports, publications, and special projects and programs.
- US FDA Orange Book
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
Searchable by active ingredient, proprietary name, applicant holder and number. "Lists approved drug products that are bioequivalent, including new drugs, generic drugs, and antibiotics... approved nonprescription products" and information about patents and marketing exclusivity.
[To the top]
History / Physical
- Books in the Lewis Library
- Clinical- Physical Examinations and Clinical Skills, The Martindale Center http://www.martindalecenter.com/MedicalClinical_Exams.html
An extensive collection of links to reference resources covering numerous aspects of physcial examinations from head to toe, many with images and video; practice guidelines and ethics. Recommend using browser "find" feature to navigate.
- Diagnosaurus
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
An online source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Diagnosaurus allows you to search 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases, and organ system. Available through Access Medicine.
- Patient-Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method, by Robert C. Smith
- A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine
http://medicine.ucsd.edu/clinicalmed/introduction.htm
A comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals created by the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine.
[To the top]
Laboratory Tests and Values
- AccessMedicine
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
An online source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Click on the "DX Tests" tab to access Diagnostic Tests content.
- ARUP Consult
http://www.arupconsult.com/
ARUP Consult®, Version 1.4, is a dynamic tool that provides convenient access to authoritative laboratory-testing guidance, including over 1,000 lab tests categorized for diagnostic decision making; disease-related topics with background information, test ordering suggestions, and concise diagnostic advice; and diagnostic algorithms. Available at no cost in both Web and PDA versions. New and updated content released every eight weeks
- ATP III Cholesterol Management Guidelines
http://hp2010.nhlbihin.net/atpiii/atp3palm.htm
The Palm OS (Operating System) program for application of the Third Report of the National Cholesterol Education Program (NCEP) Expert Panel on Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Cholesterol in Adults (Adult Treatment Panel III) assists the clinician in implementing the ATP III Cholesterol Guidelines at the point of care; provides normal values for LDL, HDL, triglycerides; risk assessment; and drug treatment.
More than 200 test descriptions, with reference ranges and brief descriptions of conditions.
The site is a collaboration of professional societies representing the lab community.
One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection of 40 medical textbooks organized by specialty. Click on the "Drugs" tab to access drug information including indications, contraindications, and adverse reactions.
Login/password required.
[To the top]
Provides the normal test result ranges for blood tests as well as a chart of diagnostic procedures, body areas tested and descriptions.
-
Normal Laboratory Values
http://www.galter.northwestern.edu/reftools/normals.html
Contains normal lab values for the following: Blood, Plasma, Serum; Cerebrospinal fluid; Hematologic; Sweat; and Urine. Provided for Northwestern University Medical Students by Dr. Al Telser, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology and the Galter Library.
- Quest Diagnostics, Interpretive Guide for Tests
http://www.questdiagnostics.com/hcp/intguide/hcp_ig_main.html
Quest Diagnostics is the nation's leading provider of diagnostic testing, information and services that patients and doctors need to make better healthcare decisions. Their Interpretive Guide provides information relating to test selection, utilization, and interpretation. It is continually updated and all information is based on peer-reviewed publications, practice guidelines, or other reputable sources and is intended to be without promotional considerations.
- SI Units, Merck Manual
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/appendixes/ap1/ap1a.html
In the US, most laboratory test results are reported in what are termed conventional units; the rest of the world reports results in Système International d'Unités (SI) or international units (IU). The unit basis for SI is updated periodically by a panel.
Medical Reference
- Anatomy Atlases
http://www.anatomyatlases.org/
Anatomy Atlases addresses the continuum of anatomy education and may be of use primarily to three distinct populations. It is written for and intended primarily for use by Medical Students, Residents, Fellows, or Attending Physicians studying anatomy.
- Clinical Digital Library
http://unthsc-dl.slis.ua.edu/.
A clinical digital library, designed to provide "real-time" library services to offsite (including rural) clinical users. Links to both subscribed and web resources are integrated into one resource intended for patient care use. A service of the Clinical Digital Libraries Project of the UA and UNT Schools of Library and Information Sciences
- Family Practice Notebook
http://www.fpnotebook.com/
This notebook is intended to aid primary care providers in their pursuit of optimal care, well-informed patients, and healthy families. The site is derived from a "peripheral brain" collection of medical notes, and is divided over 4316 topics within 616 chapters and 31 subspecialty books.
The main sources for Medical dictionary are Stedman’s Medical Dictionary which offers fast and concise information, such as an over-the-counter or prescription medication, a medical abbreviation, or a test procedure, and Dorland's Medical Dictionary which has been the premier dictionary for health care professionals for over 100 years.
- Interactive Dermatology Atlas
http://www.dermatlas.net/index.cfm
The Interactive Dermatology Atlas contains more than 1000 photographs from patient visits over the past two decades. Searches can be performed by diagnosis, lesion characteristics, patient demographics, and treatments. Each image and case is extensively cross-referenced to other images in the atlas.
- Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education http://library.med.utah.edu/WebPath/webpath.html
This popular web resource includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions. Hosted by the Department of Pathology at the University of Utah.
- Martindale's Health Science Guide
http://www.martindalecenter.com/HSGuide.html
A compendium of resources in medicine for physicians and medical students that includes case studies, databases, exams, medical dictionaries (in multiple languages), multimedia presentations,
online courses, textbooks, and tutorials. Website maintained by Jim Martindale, former cosultant to the University of California, Irvine School of Medicine.
http://medlineplus.gov/
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, this patient education site contains a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, surgery videos, drug database, and much more.
- Net Anatomy
http://www.netanatomy.com/
NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical, health sciences, and nursing students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc.
- OME Online
http://hal.bim.msu.edu/
The Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine has developed a family of interactive, competency-based educational moduals that are designed to enable residency trainers to accomplish and validate training requirements using measurable outcomes.
-
STAT!Ref
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://online.statref.com/Default.aspx?grpalias=TEX
STAT!Ref® online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and innovative tools. Stedman’s Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000 medical calculation utility are included.
Login/password required.
Patient Education
- Familydoctor.org
http://familydoctor.org/
Provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians, this site contains information written and reviewed by AAFP physicians and patient education professionals on health topics, drug information, herbal and alternative remedies, a family practice web directory, and self-care.
- Health Information Resource Database
http://www.health.gov/nhic/#Referrals
From the National Health Information Center, this resource includes 1,800 organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organizations provide.
- Health Reference Center
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2595?db=HRCA
A collection of general interest health, fitness, and medical periodicals, as well as full-text pamphlets; specifically designed for nursing and allied health students and the general public. Indexing starts at 1996; full-text start dates range from 1996 to the present.
- Health Source Consumer Edition
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/
login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hxh
This database is one of the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. Updated daily.
- Lewis Library Subject Guides
- MDConsult
https://proxy.hsc.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.mdconsult.com
One of the premier clinical resources, MDConsult is a searchable, full-text collection including 3,500 patient education handouts.
Login/password required.
-
Medline Plus
http://medlineplus.gov/
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
The website also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
- MerckSource
http://www.mercksource.com/
MerckSource is an advertising-free general health information portal. It is designed to help patients learn more about their health and chronic conditions and prepare better for office visits. Includes health centers for men, women, children, and caregivers, interactive health tools, health forms for doctor visits, and 3D medical animations.
- Multilingual Health Information
http://nnlm.gov/train/chi/multi.html#lang
The result of a collaboration of the
National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Outreach Librarians, this searchable index provides links to health information on the web in a number of languages including Chinese, French, German, Hmong, Russian, Spanish, and many more.
[To the top]
Professional Resources
- American Academy for Medical Colleges Student Site
http://www.aamc.org/students/start.htm
This guide and resource for medical students and residents includes financial information and links to AMCAS and
ERAS, a service that transmits residency, fellowship and osteopathic internship applications, letters of recommendations, MSPEs, medical school transcripts, USMLE transcripts, COMLEX transcripts, and other supporting credentials from you and your designated Dean's Office to program directors using the Internet.
- American Academy of Physicians Medical Students, Residents, and Fellows-in-Training Section
http://www.acponline.org/srf/
ACP offers a free membership for medical school students enrolled in
an LCME or AOA accredited school. Student members have the opportunity to explore the internal medicine profession, are granted free attendance at scientific meetings, receive a subscription to IMpact (a monthly online newsletter for medical students), and are eligible for substantial discounts on many of the College's programs, products, and services.
- American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, OsteoMed Student Home Page
http://www.aacom.org/home-students/index.html
The American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM), founded in 1898, exists to lend support and assistance to all the nation's osteopathic medical schools. AACOM provides information of interest for medical students, including financial aid, internships, student community and government.
- American Medical Association Medical Student Section
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/14.html
The AMA Medical Student Section (MSS), with nearly 50,000 members, is the largest and most influential organization of medical students in the country. As the medical profession's authority in professional standards, ethics, and health care policy, the strength of the AMA comes from its hundreds of thousands of physician and medical student members. View the Top 10 Reasons to Join the AMA.
- American Medical Student Association
http://www.amsa.org/
AMSA is a student-governed, national organization committed to representing the concerns of physicians-in-training. With a membership of more than 68,000 medical students, premedical students, interns, residents and practicing physicians from across the country, AMSA continues its commitment to improving medical training and the nation's health.
- American Osteopathic Association
http://www.osteopathic.org/
The AOA is a member association representing 59,000 osteopathic physicians (D.O.s). The AOA serves as the primary certifying body for D.O.s, and is the accrediting agency for all osteopathic medical colleges and health care facilities. Its mission is to advance the philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine by promoting excellence in education, research, and the delivery of quality, cost-effective healthcare within a distinct, unified profession.
-
Student Osteopathic Medical Association
http://www.studentdo.com/
The purpose of the Student Osteopathic Medical Association, the student affiliate organization of the American Osteopathic Association, is to promote osteopathic ideals and unity within the profession, to educate future osteopathic physicians, and to establish and to maintain lines of communication among healthcare professionals in an ongoing effort to improve the quality of healthcare.
[To the top]
Tools You Can Use
[To the top]
Research Assistance
[To the top]
|
