

STATE OF HAWAII OFFICE OF ELECTIONS

802 LEHUA AVENUE
PEARL CITY, HAWAII 96782
www.hawaii.gov/elections

FACTSHEET BOARD OF EDUCATION

PURPOSE (State Constitution, Article X, Section 3)

The board of education shall have the power, as provided by law, to formulate statewide educational policy and appoint the superintendent of education as the chief executive officer of the public school system.

GENERAL INFORMATION (State Constitution, Article X, Section 2; and HRS §13-1, §13-1.1)

The State of Hawaii Board of Education consists of one (1) non-voting high school student member appointed by the Hawaii State Student Council and thirteen (13) members elected by the registered voters of two (2) at-large school board districts. The school board districts are:

School Board District I

Island of Oahu (consisting of Representative Districts 17 through 51)

one (1) regident

School Board District II

Islands of Hawaii, Maui, Lanai, Molokai, Kahoolawe, Kauai, and Niihau (consisting of Representative Districts 1 through 16)

Ten (10) members are elected at-large from the First School Board District:

-	one (1) resident	Representative Districts 17 to 29 and part of 30 and 32
-	one (1) resident	4th Departmental School District (Central Oahu) Representative Districts 31, 33, 38, 39 and part of Districts 30, 32, 34, 36, 40, 41, 46 and 47
-	one (1) resident	5th Departmental School District (Leeward Oahu) Representative Districts 35, 42, 43, 44, 45 and Part of Districts 34, 36, 37, 40, 41 and 46
-	one (1) resident	6th Departmental School District (Windward Oahu) Representative Districts 48 to 51 and part of 46 and 47
-	six (6) at-large	No Departmental School District Residency (Island of Oahu)

2rd Departmental School District (Handluly)

Three (3) members are elected at-large from the Second School Board District:

- one (1) resident 1st Departmental School District (County of Hawaii)

Representative Districts 1 to 7

- one (1) resident 2nd Departmental School District (County of Maui)

Representative Districts 8 to 13

- one (1) resident 7th Departmental School District (County of Kauai)

Representative Districts 14 to 16

QUALIFICATIONS OF MEMBERS (HRS §13-2)

- Currently registered voter of School Board District

- Residency in Departmental School District for seats requiring residency

- Meet provisions (resign to run) of Article II, Section 7 of the Hawaii State Constitution

- Does not hold any other public office in state or county government

ELECTION OF MEMBERS (HRS §13-3)

Members of the Board of Education are nominated in a nonpartisan Primary Election and elected in a nonpartisan General Election. Nomination papers must be obtained from and submitted to the Chief Election Officer in a prescribed manner. Contests are conducted in an at-large format, affording every registered voter of a school board district the opportunity to vote for each and every candidate seeking election from such school board district.

TERM OF OFFICE (HRS §13-4)

The term of office of members of the Board of Education is four (4) years, beginning on the day of the General Election of the year in which they are elected and ending on the day of the second General Election after their election. Members may be re-elected without restriction as to the number of terms.

CURRENT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

MEMBER	SEAT	NEXT ELECTION		
School Board District I				
Denise Matsumoto	3rd Dept. Dist. (Honolulu)	2008		
Eileen Ishihara Clarke	4th Dept. Dist. (Central Oahu)	2010		
	5th Dept. Dist. (Leeward Oahu)			
John R. Penebacker	6th Dept. Dist. (Windward Oahu)	2010		
Cecil Heftel	No Dept. Residency Required	2008		
Lei Ahu Isa	No Dept. Residency Required	2008		
Garrett M. Toguchi	No Dept. Residency Required	2008		
Donna R. Ikeda	No Dept. Residency Required	2010		
Kim Coco Iwamoto	No Dept. Residency Required	2010		
Karen Knudsen	No Dept. Residency Required	2010		
School Board District II				
Herbert S. Watanabe	1st Dept. Dist. (County of Hawaii)	2008		
Mary J. Cochran	2nd Dept. Dist. (County of Maui)	2010		
Maggie Cox	7th Dept. Dist. (County of Kauai)	2008		

This Fact Sheet is intended for informational purposes only and should not be used as an authority on the Hawaii election law and candidate deadlines. Requirements and/or deadlines may change pending changes in legislation. Consult the Hawaii Revised Statutes and other sources for more detailed and accurate requirements.

Office of Elections - FSBO135J 07/16/07