

## STATE OF HAWAII OFFICE OF ELECTIONS

802 LEHUA AVENUE PEARL CITY, HAWAII 96782 www.hawaii.gov/elections

# FACTSHEET 2008 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS

#### PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS

In the State of Hawaii, the names of the candidates for president and vice president are used on the ballot in place of the names of the presidential electors. The votes cast for president and vice president of each political party, or group that has qualified by petition to place the names of their candidates on the ballot, shall be counted for the presidential electors and alternates nominated by their respective political party/group. Hawaii is entitled to four presidential electors in the 2008 election. (U.S. Constitution, Article II, Section 1 and HRS Sections 11-113 and 14-23)

# SUBMISSION OF NAMES OF PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS AND ALTERNATES (HRS Chapter 14)

The party/group that is eligible to place the names of candidates for president and vice president on the General Election ballot shall hold a state party or group convention to nominate as candidates:

- four presidential electors
- four first alternates for each presidential elector
- four second alternates for each presidential elector

State law requires that the electors shall be registered voters of the State. (HRS Section 14-21)

The names and addresses of the nominees for presidential electors and alternates shall be certified by the chairman and secretary of the convention and submitted to the chief election officer not later than 4:30 p.m. on the 60th day prior to the general election. In the year 2008, the deadline will be **Friday, September 5, 2008.** (HRS Section 14-21)

#### **ELECTION OF PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS (HRS Chapter 14)**

The electors and alternates of the party/group that receives the most votes for president and vice president in the General Election shall be elected and shall attend the Electoral College to cast votes for president and vice president. All four of the electors shall be of the same party/group.

In accordance with State law, the chief election officer shall certify to the governor the names of the elected presidential electors and alternates not later than 4:30 p.m. on the last day in the month of the election. (HRS Section 14-24)

#### **CONVENING OF THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS**

The presidential electors shall assemble at the State Capitol on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December next following their election, at two o'clock in the afternoon. In the year 2008, the electors shall assemble on **December 15, 2008** at the State Capitol. (HRS Section 14-26)

The electors, when convened, shall vote by ballot for that person for president and that person for vice president of the United States, who are, respectively, the candidates of the party or group which they represent. (HRS Section 14-28)

#### FOR YOUR INFORMATION

The Primary Election will be held on Saturday, September 20, 2008.

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 4, 2008.

This Fact Sheet is intended for informational purposes only and should not be used as an authority on the Hawaii election law and candidate deadlines. Requirements and/or deadlines may change pending changes in legislation. Consult the Hawaii Revised Statutes and other sources for more detailed and accurate requirements.

Office of Elections - FSBO125F 09.08.08

## **2008 Presidential Electors**

PARTY	ELECTORS	FIRST ALTERNATES	SECOND ALTERNATES
Constitution	David W. Porter	Kenneth M. Newman	Sacia Webster
Constitution	T.Stuart Murray	Alice F. Newman	Conrad Chang
Constitution	Norman G. Dale	Justin Thain	Calvin Griffin
Constitution	Patricia N. Dale	Lauren Porter	David Wethington
Democrat	Joy Kobashigawa Lewis	Michael J. Golojuch	Beverly Jean Withington
Democrat	Marie Dolores Strazar	Harriet N. Kam	Albert Lewis
Democrat	Amefil Agbayani	Helen Nielson	Douglas N.B. Pyle
Democrat	Frances K. Kagawa	John P. Sucich	John W. Bickel
Green	Michele Harmon	Robert Jacobson	Jonathan Sifuentes
Green	William R. Bailey	John Silvestrone	Judith Hilke Lundborg
Green	Robert H. Stiver	Renee Ing	Robert R. Bailey
Green	Ira Rohter	Jill Kimie Sadoyama	Ramsis G. Lutfy

## **2008 Presidential Electors**

PARTY	ELECTORS	FIRST ALTERNATES	SECOND ALTERNATES
Independent	Shaun Stenshol	Howard Saiki	Catherine Wong
Independent	Jilda Voeks	Arthur F. Stockwell	Brian J. Daniel
Independent	Erik Kvam	Pamela Miedtke-Wolf	Rena Blumberg
Independent	Marsha Mayer	Eden Peart	John Blumer-Buell
Libertarian	Tracy Ryan	Kenneth Schoolland	Lloyd Jeffrey Mallan
Libertarian	John Spangler	Li Zhao	David Hudson
Libertarian	Larry Bertley	Guy Monahan	James Keefe
Libertarian	Roger Taylor	Donald Johnston	Michael Powell
Republican	Linda Lingle	James R. Aiona	Marie Laderta
Republican	Gerald Coffee	Sam Aiona	Gae Bergquist Trommald
Republican	Gene Ward	Janice M. Hellreich	Steven L. Bretschneider
Republican	Willes K. Lee	BrennanMorioka	Julie F. Lee