

Station Saluria, Texas

Coast Guard Station #220

Location:	Northeast end Matagorda Island; 28-23' 00"N x 96-24' 00"W
Date of Conveyance:	1879
Station Built:	1880
Fate:	Transferred to the custody of the War Department in 1942

Remarks:

Station Port O'Connor is a descendent of this station.

Keepers:

Daniel Simpson was appointed keeper on 7 OCT 1880 and resigned on 30 NOV 1881.

James Hill was appointed keeper on 18 JAN 1882 and resigned on 13 FEB 1882.

Lemmel C. Macintire was appointed keeper on 8 SEP 1882 and resigned, date unknown.

Charles J. Brandon was appointed keeper on 2 OCT 1884 and he died on 31 OCT 1884.

John A. Brooks was appointed keeper on 26 NOV 1884 and was discharged on 5 JUN 1886.

Henry Tolland was appointed keeper on 17 MAY 1887 and transferred to Station

Velasco on 24 NOV 1888.

Andrew Rasmussen was appointed keeper on 24 NOV 1888 and was still serving in 1915.

CBM (L) J. T. Knight was listed as the OIC in 1929.

Photography:

[Historians' Office]

[USCG Home Page]

Added: January 2001