

Station Isles of Shoals, New Hampshire

Coast Guard Station #14

Location:	On Appledore Island
Date of Conveyance:	1908
Station Built:	1910
Fate:	Turned over to GSA in 1954.

Remarks:

Isle of Shoals station is first mention in 1908: "title has not yet been perfected." In 1909, it was reported that contract for the construction of the station had been entered into, and the work was about to be undertaken, and in 1910 the station was reported completed and put in commission. This station was built on "Appledore Islands, Isles of Shoals" in 1910. A launchway was built at the station in 1920 and, in 1921, a new well was driven. The station was still listed as an active station after the war in 1945, but disappears from the records in April 1951. The property was turned over to the GSA in 1954.

Keepers:

The first keeper, Joseph J. Staples, was appointed on May 7, 1910 and was reassigned to the fletcher's Neck station on December 22, 1911. He was followed by Osmund Cummings (December 15, 1911 until reassigned to the Office of the Second District Superintendent in Provincetown, Massachusetts on November 3, 1917), and Charles M. Berry (reassigned on September 1, 1919 from the Burnt Island station and reassigned to the Cape Elizabeth station on June 10, 1921). No keeper is listed until Almond C. Maker arrived from Plum Island station on December 23, 1924; he served

until reassigned to the Damiscove Island station on February 17, 1925. Then came Alan R. Tabbutt (from the White Head station on October 1, 1926 until he was dismissed on April 30, 1932), Lee R. Dunn (reassigned from the Mackinak station in the Tenth District on June 1, 1932 and going to the White Head station on July 10, 1935), Ashley H. Calder (newly commissioned July 9, 1935 until reassigned to the Portsmouth Harbor station on December 4, 1935), and Jonas T. Hagglove (February 20, 1939).

Photography:

[Historians' Office]

[USCG Home Page]

Added: December 2000