

# Station Burnt Island, Maine

## Coast Guard Station #7

| Location:           | Off mouth of St. Georges River; 43-52" 20"N x 69-17' 40"W                    |
|---------------------|--|
| Date of Conveyance: | 1889   |
| Station Built:      | 1891   |
| Fate:               | Consolidated with Monhegan Island Light in 1947. Turned over to GSA in 1964. |

#### Remarks:

This station was constructed in 1891 and placed in operation in 1892 on a site "north side Burnt Island, off mouth St. George River." Contract was entered in 1913 for extensive improvements to the station. The first keeper was Herbert Elwell, who was appointed on November 14, 1891 and resigned on September 20, 1902. He was followed by Henry E. Stanley (September 29, 1902 until reassigned to the Cranberry Island station on October 12, 1909), Jasper B. Myers (October 2, 1909 until reassigned to the Hampton Beach station on December 1, 1916), Charles M. Berry (June 16, 1917 until going to the Isle of Shoals station on September 1, 1919), Everett M. Mills (June 24, 1919 until reassignment to the Rye Beach station on December 23, 1924). The next officer in charge listed is Chief Boatswains Mate H. F. Snow in 1927 followed by Chief Boatswains Mate N. F. Cameron from 1930 to 1931. Chief Cameron is back in 1932. The Work Relief and Public Works Appropriation Act of 1938 provided \$52,250 for a new boathouse and launch way and to recondition the station buildings. The station remained on the listing of stations until July 1964.

### **Keepers:**

Herbert Elwell first appointed on NOV 14, 1891 and resigned on SEP 20, 1902.

Henry E. Stanley appointed on SEPT 29, 1902 and reassigned to Cranberry Island on OCT 12, 1909.

Jasper B. Myers appointed on OCT 2, 1909 and still serving as of 1915.

Charles M. Berry served from 1917 to 1919.

Everett M. Mills served from 1919 to 1924.

H. F. Snow served in 1927.

N. F. Cameron served from 1930 to 1932.

# **Photography:**

[Historians' Office]

[USCG Home Page]

Added: December 2000