Appendix L Team Members

Steering Committee

The planning process for the Elliott State Forest was guided by a steering committee composed of managers from the Departments of Forestry, State Lands, Fish and Wildlife, and Justice; a Coos County Commissioner; and the Superintendent of the South Coast Education Service District. The 11-person group was advisory to the State Forester and the Director of the Department of State Lands on the Elliott State Forest planning process. It provided overall direction to the planning team and comments on key issues during the process. In addition, the steering committee members informed community leaders and others regarding planning issues and plan progress.

Steering Committee Members

- Dan Shults, Southern Oregon Area Director, Chair
- Ray Craig/Steve Thomas/Jim Paul/Nancy Hirsch, Assistant State Foresters
- John Lilly/Steve Purchase, Department of State Lands, Assistant Directors
- Mike Bordelon/Ross Holloway/Lisa DeBruyckere/Nancy Hirsch/Mike Cafferata, State Forests Program Directors
- Jim Young, Coos District Forester and Project Leader
- Mike Schnee/Barbara Lee, State Forests Program Policy and Planning Managers
- Cary Greenwood/Dan Postrel, Oregon Department of Forestry, Agency Affairs
 Directors
- Steve Denney, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Southwest Region Assistant Director
- Ian Whitlock/Michele Logan/Jas Adams, Department of Justice
- John Griffith, Coos County Commissioner
- Rick Howell, South Coast Education Service District Superintendent

Core Planning Team for the Elliott State Forest Management Plan

The Department of Forestry formed a Core Planning Team to be responsible for developing revisions to the Forest Management Plan and Habitat Conservation Plan. The team developed resource goals and strategies for the management of the Elliott State Forest. Team members brought a wide range of disciplines to the revision process. The group met nearly monthly, beginning in October 2000.

Core Planning Team Members

- Jim Young, Coos District Forester and Project Leader
- Greg Kreimeyer, Coos District Representative
- Larry Sprouse/Bob Fields/Jennifer Wright, Coos District, Project Coordinators
- Marcia Humes, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Program Wildlife Biologist
- Logan Jones, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Planning Coordinator
- Mike Schnee/Barbara Lee, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Program Policy and Planning Managers
- Jeff Brandt, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Adaptive Management Unit Manager and Program Research and Monitoring Coordinator
- Liz Dent, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Program Riparian and Aquatic Specialist
- John Seward, Oregon Department of Forestry, Southern Area Geotechnical Specialist
- Doug Robin, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Program Silviculturalist
- Jane Hope/Roger Welty, Oregon Department of Forestry, State Forests Program Planning Specialists
- Jasen King, Oregon Department of Forestry, Unit Forester, Southwest Oregon District, and Project Technical Writer
- Jeff Foreman, Oregon Department of Forestry, Public Information Officer
- Randy Smith, Oregon Department of Forestry, Southern Oregon Wildlife Biologist
- Marnie Allbritten, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Wildlife Biologist
- Howard Crombie/Tom Loynes/Alan Ritchey, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Biologists

Contributors from Other Resource Agencies

- Jon Germond and Rod Krahmer, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
- Kevin Maurice / Brian Cox / Lee Folliard / Richard Szlemp, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- Frank Bird / Chuck Wheeler, National Marine Fisheries Service

Additional Resource Specialists

- Wildlife: Randy Smith/Mike Wilson/Matt Gostin Oregon Department of Forestry
- Watershed Assessment: Dan Clough, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Geotechnical: John Seward/Jason Hinkle/Keith Mills, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Social & Economic: Gary Lettman, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Forest Modeling: Pam Overhulser/Norma Kline/Robert Fields, Oregon Department of Forestry/Dr. John Sessions, Oregon State University
- GIS: Chris Bradberry/Lisa Zwart/Ryan Miller, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Mapping: Terry Lieschner, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Stand Level Inventory: Mike DeLaune/Dave Enck/Terry Leischner, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Pathology: Alan Kanaskie, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Entomology: Dave Overhulser, Oregon Department of Forestry
- Technical Writer: Kate Lighthall
- Writing Consultant: Linda Lamb
- Technical Editor: Bonnie Dash, Envirocal
- Negotiator / Facilitator: Mike Schnee, Michael Schnee Consulting