

Governor's EMS and Trauma Advisory Council

Edward Racht, MD, Chair Pete D. Wolf, EMT-P, Vice Chair Maxie Bishop Jr., RN, LP Rebecca Campuzano-Salcido Gary D. Cheek, RN, EMT Kris J. Gillespie Frederick N. Hagedorn, MD

1100 West 49th Street Austin. Texas 78756-3199 Raymond P. Holloway Shirley Scholz, RN Mario Segura, RN F. E. Shaheen III, EMT-P Joan E. Shook, MD John L. Simms Ronald M. Stewart, MD Marti VanRavenswaay

February 13, 2004

Commissioner Albert Hawkins Texas Health & Human Services Commission 4900 North Lamar Boulevard Austin, Texas 78751

Commissioner,

Thank you so much for the multiple opportunities to have input into the evolution of the Texas Department of Health into the Texas Department of State Health Services.

I have attached a consensus Position Paper from the Governor's EMS & Trauma Advisory Council approved unanimously today. We believe strongly in a collaborative approach to our decision-making and we developed this paper to represent the consensus of ALL of the stakeholders involved in decision-making for emergency medical services & trauma care at the Advisory Council level. They have requested that I include the roster as support from those involved in this process.

If you have any questions, or any of us can be of help, please don't hesitate to call on us. We believe good things will come out of challenging times as long as we work together to address the issues.

Thank you for allowing us to participate.

On Behalf of the Council.

Edward M. Racht, M.D. Chairperson