Style manual of the University of Chicago Press. This manual is used by many publishers, editors, and professors throughout the English-speaking world as a guide to manuscript preparation. Chicago style is used for academic writing in history, political science, business, and the humanities.
Book: The Chicago Manual of Style
Electronic Database: Chicago Manual of Style Online.
*Click connect to electronic resource. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password.
Chicago Manual of Style Formatting and Style Guide, available online from the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, provides guidelines and examples for formatting a paper and for citing sources in Chicago style.
CMS Crib Sheet, prepared by Russ Dewey and Dr. Abel Scribe Ph.D., provides a brief summary of rules for formatting papers and citing sources in Chicago style.
Son of Citation Machine: Chicago Format, created by David Warlick of The Landmark Project, automatically generates citations in Chicago style based on information you enter into a template.
The Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date System Citation Guide from the Ohio State University Libraries Web site provides sample bibliography and in-text citations for the Author-Date style of citation (recommended for natural sciences and social sciences).
The Chicago Manual of Style Notes-Bibliography System Citation Guide from the Ohio State University Libraries Web site provides sample bibliography and in-text citations for the Notes-Bibliography style (used for fine arts, history, literature, etc.).
The University of Chicago Press Web site provides Examples of Chicago-Style Documentation, as well as a Q&A that discusses particular situations and examples that were not covered in detail in the book.
The American Anthropological Association (AAA) has created an AAA Style Guide, based on The Chicago Manual of Style and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, for authors and editors of their in-house publications.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers Based on The Chicago Manual of Style, this is essentially the same format as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers.
Turabian Citation Guide, from the University of Chicago Press Web site, provides samples of citations in notes-bibliography style (also known simply as bibliography style) and parenthetical citations–reference list style (also called reference list style).
Turabian Instructor Guide, from the University of Chicago Press Web site, provides advice on how to teach the Turabian style in the classroom.
Who Was Kate Turabian?, from the University of Chicago Press Web site, provides a brief biography of the originator of the Turabian style.
