CAPR Workshop -- Brussels -- December, 2010

European Commission Workshop on Peer Review, Brussels, December 13-14, 2010.
This workshop -- co-organized with the European Commission -- brought CAPR researchers together with EC staff and representatives of a number of US and european science foundations. The goal: to understand the latest thinking about integrating broader impact concerns into peer review.
Our questions:

  • What different models for incorporating societal impacts considerations into the grant proposal peer review process can we identify?
  • How does the incorporation of societal impacts into peer review affect our understanding of expertise? All participants will come having read a small set of readings distributed prior to the workshop.

All participants attended having read a small set of readings distributed prior to the workshop. 15- 20 minute presentations were used to launch group discussions. A daily reporter collected suggestions for further collaborative problem solving.
Workshop Report.
Below is the list of Participants at this workshop. To see presentations given to the conference, click on the highlighted name.
National agencies & Academic Institutions

  • Sally Amero, National Institutes for Health (NIH), United States
  • Frank Bingen, Fonds National de la Recherche, Luxembourg
  • Jonas Björk, Swedish Research Council, Sweden
  • Robert Frodeman, University of North Texas, United States
  • Michael Gorman, National Science Foundation (NSF), United States
  • Edward Hackett, Arizona State University, United States
  • Britt Holbrook, University of North Texas, United States
  • Carl Mitcham, Colorado School of Mines, United States
  • Simon Oso, Slovenian Research Agency, Slovenia
  • Christian Pohl, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETH), Switzerland
  • Nikolai Raffler, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Germany
  • Gillian Rendle, Research Councils UK, United Kingdom
  • Joanne Tornow, National Science Foundation (NSF), United States

European Science Foundation (ESF) 

  • Marc Heppener
  • Laura Marin

European Commission 

  • Alan Cross
  • Clara De la Torre
  • Jimmy Felthaus
  • Gesa Hansen
  • Brendan Hawdon
  • Ugur Muldur
  • Helga Nowotny, ERC Scientific Council
  • Neville Reeve
  • René von Schomberg

EU Executive Agencies 

  • Sebastiano Fumero, Research Executive Agency
  • Alejandro Martin-Hobdey, ERC Executive Agency