Summit Schedule

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Registration and Welcome Reception

6:00 – 7:30 pm

McQuinn Atrium

Opening Program

Welcoming Remarks

Dr. Robert V. Duncan, Vice Chancellor for Research

Keynote Address: NSF Enabling the STEM Enterprise for Empowering the Nation

Dr. Wanda E. Ward, Director

Office of Integrative Activities, National Science Foundation

7:30 – 9:00 pm

Monsanto Auditorium


Thursday, April 25, 2013

Welcome and Opening

History of Broader Impacts
Dr. Robert Frodeman, University of North Texas

Broader Impacts: Who Cares?
Dr. Jack Schultz, University of Missouri

8:00 – 9:00 am

Monsanto Auditorium

Poster Session

9:00 – 10:00 am

McQuinn Atrium

Breakout Sessions

Building a Centralized Broader Impacts Support Infrastructure 
Dr. Kemi Jona, Northwestern University (572 LSC)

Documenting Broader Impacts
Session 1: Dr. Sue Cook, Indian River State College (171 LSC)
Session 2: Dr. Diane Rover, Dr. Sharron Quisenberry, Dr. Bonnie Bowen, & Megan Heitmann, Iowa State University (171 LSC)

10:00 – 12:00 pm

572 LSC and 171 LSC

Network Lunch

12:00 – 1:00 pm

McQuinn Atrium

A conversation with National Science Board Member Doug Randall

1:00 – 2:00 pm

Monsanto Auditorium

Breakout Sessions

Challenges for Broader Impacts Infrastructure Support
Session 1: Kaye Storm, Stanford University (572 LSC)
Session 2: Dr. Susan Renoe, University of Missouri (572 LSC)

Evaluation of Broader Impacts
Dr. Robert Frodeman and Dr. J. Britt Holbrook, University of North Texas (171 LSC)

2:00 – 4:00 pm

572 LSC and 171 LSC


4:00 – 6:00 pm

vans to hotel

Networking Dinner

6:00 – 8:00 pm

Missouri Theatre


Friday, April 26, 2013

NSF Rotator and Reviewer Panel Discussion

Dr. Candace Galen, Biological Sciences
Dr. Mark Kirk, Biological Sciences
Dr. Bruce McClure, Biochemistry

Dr. Charles Nilon, Fisheries & Wildlife
Dr. Richard Tankersley, National Science Foundation

9:00 – 10:00 am

Monsanto Auditorium

Town Hall/Next Steps Meeting

10:00 – 11:00 am

Monsanto Auditorium

Roundtable Lunch and Wrap Up

11:15 – 12:30 pm

McQuinn Atrium