Early Virginia Religious Petitions


Virginia County boundaries based on a 1770 map

The Illustration, below, of Virginia County boundaries, uses the following as a base map: A New and Accurate Map of Virginia Wherein most of the Counties are laid down from Actual Surveys. With A Concise Account of the Number of Inhabitants, the Trade, Soil, and Produce of that Province. By John Henry. Engraved by Thomas Jefferys Geographer to the King. London, Thos. Jefferys, 1770. Call Number: G3880 1770 .H4 Vault. Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division. County names are transcribed below the map and numbering has been added to show their location. Colorfill has been added to highlight County boundaries. Counties that were listed without boundaries defined are represented without colorfilled areas.

Map of Virginia Counties

  1. Accomack County
  2. Albemarle County
  3. Amelia County
  4. Amherst County
  5. Augusta County
  6. Bedford County
  7. Brunswick County
  8. Buckingham County
  9. Caroline County
  10. Charles City County
  11. Charlotte County
  12. Chesterfield County
  13. Culpepper County
  14. Cumberland County
  15. Dinwidie County
  16. Elizabeth City County
  17. Essex County
  18. Frederick County
  19. Fairfax County
  20. Fauquier County
  21. Gloucester County
  22. Goochland County
  23. Halifax County
  24. Hampshire County
  25. Hanover County
  26. Henrico County
  27. Isle of Wight County
  28. James City County
  29. King and Queen County
  30. King George County
  31. King William County
  32. Lancaster County
  33. Loudon County
  34. Louisa County
  35. Mecklenburg County
  36. Middlesex County
  37. Nandsemond County
  38. New Kent County
  39. Norfolk County
  40. Northampton County
  41. Northumberland County
  42. Orange County
  43. Pittsylvania County
  44. Prince Edward County
  45. Prince George County
  46. Prince William County
  47. Princess Ann County
  48. Richmond County
  49. Southampton County
  50. Spotsylvania County
  51. Stafford County
  52. Sussex County
  53. Surry County
  54. Warwick County
  55. Westmoreland County
  56. York County