National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



Reply to Attn of:

Office of the Chief Information Officer

TO:

Distribution

FROM:

Chief Information Officer

Chief of Strategic Communications

MAR 1 6 2006

ORIGINAL/ACTION COPY TO Info Copy to AA ECCO

JSC Form 684 (Rev January 6, 2004) (Informed September 2000)

SUBJECT: Policy Governing NASA's Publicly Accessible Web Sites

As NASA moves forward to implement the Vision for Space Exploration, it is important to ensure that our citizens, and the world, can learn about NASA's activities in engaging, clear, consistent and cohesive ways. The NASA Web Portal offers the broadest, most comprehensive public view of NASA's work, communicating directly with the public, press, education community, scientists and researchers, and industry.

The www.nasa.gov domain and its supporting infrastructure are well established, having served more than a petabyte of data to more than 350 million visitors since January 2003. The portal's success has been recognized externally, most importantly by users satisfaction ratings that have consistently put the portal in the top five among federal sites. In three years, the portal has provided immediate updates and interactive features on such major events as Return to Flight and the Mars Exploration Rovers.

Internally, the portal has successfully completed a NASA Enterprise Architecture review and has been certified as delivering critical services for the Agency. In addition, the NASA portal enables the Agency to effectively and efficiently meet the new requirements set by OMB for management of Agency information assets on the web and various security requirements identified in the NIST 800.2 standards.

It is now time to move forward to leverage the portal as the single domain for NASA's public web presence, increase the breadth of content available and improve search capability. Therefore, we are jointly directing all NASA officials who are planning to publish new web sites, or fund public content generation, host these sites and create and maintain their content within the NASA portal infrastructure. Guidance regarding existing legacy public web sites will be provided at a later date, after completion of an analysis currently in process. Project staff for any of these new web sites or content creation can contact Dr. Nitin Naik, Associate Chief Technology Officer for the Office of the CIO (202-358-1519 or nitin.naik@nasa.gov) and/or Brian Dunbar, Internet Services Manager for the Office of Public Affairs (202-358-0873 or brian.dunbar@nasa.gov) to develop the plans to accomplish this objective. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact them for further details.

Thank you for your support and help in communicating this policy to your staffs.

Patricia L. Dunnington

Chief Information Officer

Joseph H. Davis

Chief of Strategic Communications

DISTRIBUTION:

Officials-in-Charge of Headquarters Offices:

Deputy Administrator/Ms. Dale

Associate Administrator/Mr. Geveden

Chief of Staff/Mr. Morrell

Deputy Chief of Staff and White House Liaison/Mr. Jezierski

Assistant Administrator for Security and Program Protection/Mr. Saleeba

Associate Administrator for Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate/Dr. Porter

Associate Administrator for Exploration Systems Mission Directorate/Dr. Horowitz

Associate Administrator for Institutions and Management/Mr. Luedtke (Acting)

- Assistant Administrator for Diversity and Equal Opportunity/Dr. Hayden-Watkins
- Assistant Administrator for Human Capital Management/Ms. Dawsey
- Assistant Administrator for Infrastructure and Administration/Ms. Dominguez (Acting)
- Assistant Administrator for Procurement/Mr. Luedtke
- Assistant Administrator for Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization/Mr. Balinskas (Acting)
- Executive Director, NSSC/Mr. Arbuthnot

Associate Administrator for Program Analysis and Evaluation/Dr. Pace

Associate Administrator for Science Mission Directorate/Dr. Cleave

Associate Administrator for Space Operations Mission Directorate/Mr. Gerstenmaier

Chief Engineer/Mr. Scolese

Chief Financial Officer/Ms. Sykes

Chief Health and Medical Officer/Dr. Williams

Chief Information Officer/Ms. Dunnington

Chief Safety and Mission Assurance Officer/Mr. O'Connor

Chief of Strategic Communications/Mr. Davis

- Assistant Administrator for Education/Ms. Diaz (Acting)
- Assistant Administrator for External Relations/Mr. O'Brien
- Assistant Administrator for Legislative Affairs/Mr. Chase
- Assistant Administrator for Public Affairs/Mr. Mould

General Counsel/Mr. Wholley

Inspector General/Mr. Cobb

Directors, NASA Centers:

Ames Research Center/Mr. Christensen (Acting)

Dryden Flight Research Center/Mr. Petersen

Glenn Research Center/Dr. Whitlow

Goddard Space Flight Center/Dr. Weiler

Jet Propulsion Laboratory/Dr. Elachi

Johnson Space Center/Mr. Coats

Kennedy Space Center/Mr. Kennedy

Langley Research Center/Ms. Roe

Marshall Space Flight Center/Mr. King

Stennis Space Center/Dr. Gilbrech

cc:

Assistant Associate Administrator/Ms. Johnson Director, Strategic Investments/Mr. Shank Executive Secretariat/Mr. Box Office of the Administrator/Ms. Hutchinson Office of the Administrator/Ms. Mays Office of the Administrator/Ms. Soper Office of the Deputy Administrator/Dr. Spyke Senior Advisor to the Deputy Administrator/Mr. Hopkins Senior Advisor to the Deputy Administrator/Mr. Ralsky

Center CIOs:

ARC/S. Longchamps (Acting)
DFRC/R. Binkley
GRC/S. Pillay
GSFC/L. Cureton
Headquarters/S. Daniels-Gibson
JPL/J. Rinaldi
JSC/J. Carter
KSC/B. Hevey
LaRC/C. Mangum
MSFC/J. Pettus (Acting)
SSC/G. Irby

Mission Directorate CIOs:

Aeronautics Research/G. Cox (Acting) Exploration Systems/J. Martinez de Pinillos Science/J. Bredekamp Space Operations/C. Pino