Non-target Species Committee Meeting Seattle, WA Minutes June 3 and 4, 2004

The Non-target Species Committee convened jointly with the Ad Hoc Working Group on June 3 and 4, 2004 at the Alaska Fisheries Science Center in Seattle. Committee members in attendance were Lori Swanson, Eric Olsen, Michelle Ridgway, Karl Haflinger, Paul Spencer, and Thorn Smith. Group members included Sue Hills, Anne Hollowed, Grant Thompson, Pat Livingston, Joe Terry, Rebecca Reuter, Sandra Lowe, Dave Clausen, Dean Courteney, Tom Pearson, Ivan Vining, Melanie Brown, John Lepore, Diana Stram, Rick Methot, and Jennifer Ferdinand. Staff support was provided by Sarah Gaichas and Jane DiCosimo. Ed Richardson and Lisa Butzner also attended.

The committee reports that it gained a better understanding of the problems in the fisheries and goals of the proposed actions as a result of the staff presentations and joint discussion. However, the committee was not prepared to respond to staff requests in the discussion paper to recommend a problem statement, alternatives, analytical plan, and timeline for implementation. It will work over the summer to develop a draft problem statement and review a revised suite of alternatives that will be provided by the ad hoc group. The committee will provide its recommendations to the Council in October 2004.

The committee recommended that the Council send a letter to the NMFS Alaska Region supporting a request from the AFSC to the Region regarding estimation of groundfish catch. The AFSC is requesting estimates of: (1) catch for multiple categories of non-target species and (2) total catch (for target and non-target species) from both non-CDQ and CDQ fisheries combined. These catch estimates are critical for ongoing and future stock assessments and analyses in support of Council actions.