Skip Navigation
ACF Home   |   Services   |   Working with ACF   |   Policy/Planning   |   About ACF   |   ACF News   |   HHS Home

  Questions?  |  Privacy  |  Site Index  |  Contact Us  |  Download Reader™  |  Print      

ACF Mission
Fact Sheets
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
Functional Statements
Operating Structure
Regional Offices

About ACF

ACF Mission

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF), within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities. ACF programs aim to achieve the following:

  • families and individuals empowered to increase their own economic independence and productivity;
  • strong, healthy, supportive communities that have a positive impact on the quality of life and the development of children;
  • partnerships with individuals, front-line service providers, communities, American Indian tribes, Native communities, states, and Congress that enable solutions which transcend traditional agency boundaries;
  • services planned, reformed, and integrated to improve needed access;
  • and a strong commitment to working with people with developmental disabilities, refugees, and migrants to address their needs, strengths, and abilities.

  top of page


David A. Hansell
Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary

Joan Lombardi, Ph.D.
Deputy Assistant Secretary and Inter-Departmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development

Ann Barbagallo
Acting Director, Office of Family Assistance

Patricia Brown
Acting Director, Office of Head Start

Maiso Bryant
Acting Commissioner, Administration on Children, Youth and Families

Yolanda J. Butler, Ph.D.
Acting Director, Office of Community Services

Curtis L. Coy
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Administration

Diann Dawson
Director, Office of Regional Operations

Sharon M. Fujii
Regional Administrator, Region IX (San Francisco)

Caroline Gary
Deputy Commissioner, Administration for Native Americans

Naomi Goldstein
Director, Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation

Steve Henigson
Regional Administrator, Region X (Seattle)

Mary Ann Higgins
Regional Administrator, Region I (Boston)

Jeffrey S. Kelley
Director, Office of Public Affairs

David Lett
Regional Administrator, Region III (Philadelphia)

Nancy L. Long
Acting Regional Administrator, Region VII (Kansas City)

Faith McCormick
Acting Commissioner. Administration on Developmental Disabilities

Leon R. McCowan
Regional Administrator, Region VI, (Dallas)

Madeline Mocko
Director, Office of Legislative Affairs and Budget

Eskinder Negash
Director, Office of Refugee Resettlement

Laverdia Roach
Acting Executive Director, President's Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities

Shannon Rudisill
Associate Commissioner of the Child Care Bureau

Thomas F. Sullivan
Regional Administrator , Region VIII (Denver)

Joyce A. Thomas
Regional Administrator, Region II, (New York)

Vicki Turetsky
Commissioner, Office of Child Support Enforcement

Kent Wilcox
Regional Administrator, Region V, (Chicago)

Carlis V. Williams
Regional Administrator, Region IV (Atlanta)

  top of page


  top of page

Fact Sheets

For HHS Factsheets, please check the HHS Press Releases and Factsheets

  top of page

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

  top of page

Functional Statements

  top of page

Operating Structure

  top of page

Regional Offices

Office of Regional Operations

BOSTON: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

NEW YORK: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands

PHILADELPHIA: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia

ATLANTA: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

CHICAGO: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin

DALLAS: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas

KANSAS CITY: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska

DENVER: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

SAN FRANCISCO: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau

SEATTLE: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington

  top of page


Services for Families
| Working with ACF | Policy/Planning | About ACF | ACF News

Last Updated: July 30, 2009

Administration for Children and Families US Department of Health and Human Services