SUPPORT FOR THE NATIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION ACT OF 2009

The National Criminal Justice Commission Act of 2009, S.714, has already garnered wide support from across the spectrum, including Senate leadership and senior members of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Senator Webb and his staff have engaged with over 100 organizations and associations, representing prosecutors, judges, defense lawyers, former offenders, advocacy groups, think tanks, victims rights organizations, academics, prisoners, and law enforcement on the street. This engagement is ongoing, and support continues to grow.

The following organizations have endorsed S. 714:

American Jail Association Human Rights Watch Prison Fellowship Sentencing Project

Families Against Mandatory Minimums American Society of Criminology

Third Way

National Black Police Association

National Council on Crime and Delinquency

National Association of Police

Organizations Color of Change

Drug Policy Forum of Hawaii Criminal Justice Commission of the National Association of Social Workers International Community Corrections

Association

General Board of Church and Society of the

United Methodist Church Just Detention International Mennonite Central Committee Open Society Policy Center

American Friends Service Committee Disciples Justice Action Network

NETWORK

Interfaith Drug Policy Initiative

Catholic Charities USA

American Federation of Government

Employees (AFGE) RECONSIDER

International Union of Police Associations

November Coalition Foundation ATTIC Correctional Services Human Rights and the Drug War Law Enforcement Against Prohibition

California NORML

National African American Drug Policy

Coalition, Inc.

Correctional Education Association

Legal Action Center

National Association of Criminal Defense

Lawyers

Recommendation in support of S. 714 has been filed by the American Bar Association (ABA) Criminal Justice Section for consideration by the ABA House of Delegates.

The following Senators have cosponsored S. 714:

Sen. Mark Begich [D-AK] Sen. Jeff Bingaman [D-NM] Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH] Sen. Roland Burris [D-IL]

Sen. Benjamin L. Cardin [D-MD] Sen. Thomas R. Carper, [D-DE] Sen. Robert P. Casey, Jr., [D-PA] Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL] Sen. Kirsten E. Gillibrand [D-NY]

Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC] Sen. Kay Hagan [D-NC]

Sen. Orrin G Hatch, [R-UT]

Sen. Edward M. Kennedy [D-MA]

Sen. John F. Kerry [D-MA]

Sen. Mary L. Landrieu [D-LA]

Sen. Patrick J. Leahy [D-VT] Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO]

Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]

Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV]

Sen. Charles E. Schumer [D-NY] Sen. Olympia Snowe [R-ME]

Sen. Arlen Specter [D-PA] Sen. Jon Tester, [D-MT]

Sen. Mark Udall, [D-CO]

Sen. Mark R. Warner [D-VA]

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]

Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]