Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), as amended in 2002, was enacted in 1966 and provides that any person has the right to request access to federal agency records or information. All agencies of the United States government are required to disclose records upon receiving a written request for them, except for those records that are protected from disclosure by nine exemptions. This right of access is enforceable in court.

On October 2, 1996, the Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments of 1996 (E-FOIA) was signed into law. E-FOIA makes it possible for you to have electronic access to the ITA FOIA Reading Room. The new law requires agencies to respond to a FOIA request within 20 working days, excluding holidays.

Documents and information sources are currently available on this ITA website and can be browsed prior to submitting a FOIA request. The four units of ITA maintain information on this website (see the navigation to the left: ITA Organizations) that contains information about their specific programs and activities. If these resources do not contain the information you are seeking, then you may consider filing a FOIA request. Below are some links to assist you in the process:

Request a FOIA

Pay for a FOIA

Appeal a Denied FOIA

Request Info on Yourself

9 FOIA Exemptions

Expected Response Time

For additional information on how to use the FOIA, refer to “A Citizen's Guide on Using the Freedom of Information Act and the Privacy Act of 1974 to Request Government Records”. This publication is available at Federal Depository Libraries, the Government Printing Office, or you can access it on-line through GPO Access.