Click here to skip navigation Home  |  Subject Index  |  Important Links  |  Contact Us  |  Help

U.S. Office of Personnel Management - Ensuring the Federal Government has an effective civilian workforce

Advanced Search

Presidents Quality Award Program


Image of the Trophy

The Presidential Award for Management Excellence—the President’s Quality Award (PQA)—is the highest award given to Executive Branch agencies for management excellence.  The award was established in 1988 to recognize excellence in quality and productivity, applying to the public sector similar criteria used for the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Improvement Awards.

In 2002, the PQA was redesigned to recognize Federal agencies that best achieve the objectives of the President’s Management Agenda (PMA). 

There are three award categories:

  • Overall Management - For agency performance in integrating their management systems under the five Governmentwide Management Initiatives.
  • Agencywide Performance in the Governmentwide Management Initiative - For agency performance in one of the five Governmentwide Management Initiatives.
  • Innovative and Exemplary Practices - For a specific practice, falling under one of the five Governmentwide Management Initiatives, that is innovative and exemplary.

From its inception, the Office of Personnel Management has been honored to administer the Presidential Award for Management Excellence.

Go to