

The Nature Conservancy in Indiana 1505 N. Delaware Street, Suite 200 Indianapolis, IN 46202

Toll Free (800) 937-5263 Fax (317) 917-2478

February 20, 2009

The Honorable Richard Lugar 306 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Lugar:

We are excited to share with you our Fiscal Year 2010 Land and Water Conservation Fund proposal for the Hoosier National Forest. We are asking for an appropriation of \$1,644,000 for the Hoosier National Forest to acquire 600 acres in 3 separate counties. The properties span from the northern to southern end of the Hoosier National Forest, and each property has its own set of diverse biological targets and natural features.

- The Brown County Hills Portfolio Site encompasses the largest contiguous forest block in Indiana, and consolidating and protecting the Oak-Hickory forests will benefit targeted species such as forest interior breeding birds and terrestrial bound vertebrates.
- > The Wesley Chapel Gulf Portfolio Site (Orange County) supports one of the richest assemblages of cave fauna in the country and nationally it ranks in the top 10 caves for species richness.
- The Clover Lick Barrens Portfolio Site (Perry County) is a designated as a USFS Special Area because it encompasses globally-rare limestone barrens and hosts extremely rare plants.

While the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act was passed and will provide additional funding for habitat restoration activities on the Hoosier National Forest, it does not provide funding for land acquisition. The Land and Water Conservation Fund appropriations are essential as they are the only dedicated funds for Forest Service land acquisitions.

We thank you for your continuing support and commitment to protecting Indiana's natural resources for current and future generations.

Sincerely,

Mary McConnell State Director Indiana Chapter

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Charles Schalliol CHAIR

Diana Hamilton VICE CHAIR

Hon. Ed Pease VICE CHAIR

David Rodgers SECRETARY

Brett McKamey TREASURER

Robert Meyer PAST CHAIR

Jeff Belskus Kathryn Betley Ann Bochnowski Ronald Christian Janet Chrzan Lori Efroymson-Aguilera Stephen Enkema Suzanne Fehsenfeld David Frick L. Craig Fulmer Jingle Igleheart Hagey Michael Himes Rick Johnson Paul Kite Andre Lacy Jane Martin June McCormack Jon Moll **Emily Pichon** Richard Phillips Tim Ritchie Patricia Schaefer Frank Schurz Anne Shane John Thompson

ADVISORY TRUSTEES John Bacone Paul Grayson Cloyce Hedge Eric Kelly Victor Lechtenberg Vicky Meretsky Hon. Bart Peterson Edwin Squiers

R. Wyatt Weaver Wayne Zink

Mary McConnell STATE DIRECTOR