John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield R. Bruce Matthews

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

May 28, 2003

The Honorable Spencer Abraham Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Abraham:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to note that Mr. Jerold D. Lipsky of the Los Alamos Site Office has been honored as the 2002 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. The Board Members and staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by the DOE Facility Representatives and add our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Lipsky.

The Board continues to view the Facility Representative Program as one of DOE's most effective and efficient approaches for assuring the safety of the full spectrum of DOE hazardous activities. This year's workshop, which featured extensive sharing of lessons learned among Facility Representatives, was excellent, demonstrating the continued growth and maturity of the Facility Representatives community and its strong program leadership. The Board encourages DOE to sustain the vigor of the current Facility Representative Program and look for ways to apply the lessons learned in establishing the Facility Representative Program to facilitate building DOE's safety system oversight personnel into a similarly effective cadre of technically proficient contributors to facility safety.

Sincerely,

John T. Conwa

John T. Conway Chairman

c: Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr. Mr. Ralph E. Erickson Mr. Jerold D. Lipsky