

Department of Energy

Washington, DC 20585

March 9, 1994

The Honorable John T. Conway Chairman Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board 625 Indiana Avenue, N.W. Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004

Dear Mr. Chairman:

Section 316(b) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (42 U.S.C. 2286e(b)) requires the Department of Energy to submit a written report annually to Congress concerning the Department's activities with regard to Recommendations received from the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board. We are pleased to enclose for your information the Department's annual report for calendar year 1993.

The Department is committed to cooperate fully with the Board and provide ready access to each defense nuclear facility. We recognize the important role the Board has played in identifying significant safety related issues at our defense nuclear facilities.

We believe that the Department has begun to improve its level of performance during 1993. Nevertheless, we recognize that a need for significant improvement remains. I am determined that the Department develop a more disciplined approach to making commitments to the Board and coordinate the many corrective actions within the Department more effectively. We also recognize that the Department must more effectively evaluate our outstanding commitments to the Board in terms of management focus and expenditure of rescurces required. The Annual Report describes specific initiatives underway within the Department to address these matters.

An important area where our progress has been unsatisfactory in 1993 involves implementation of the Board's Recommendation 90-2 concerning Codes and Standards. We began a renewed initiative in early 1994 to develop a consistent and effective approach to Recommendation 90-2 in a timely manner.

In calendar year 1993, the Board issued six Recommendations, five of which the Department accepted. The Department accepted the sixth Recommendation on February 2, 1994. The Department is implementing corrective action or is developing Implementation Plans for each of these six Recommendations. Progress continues within the Department in completing actions required under the Implementation Plans for the eleven outstanding Recommendations issued prior to 1993. Completion of the Implementation Plans for certain Recommendations will require multi-year efforts. In addition, the Department concluded all actions necessary to implement two Recommendations in 1993.

Sincerely,

Hazel R. O'Leary

Enclosure

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Thomas S. Foley Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John T. Conway Chairman Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board 625 Indiana Avenue, N.W. Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004

The Honorable Albert Gore, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Robert H. Michel Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable William H. Natcher Chairman Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Joseph M. McDade Ranking Minority Member Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ronald V. Dellums Chairman Committee on Armed Services U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable George Mitchell Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Robert Dole Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Sam A. Nunn Chairman Committee on Armed Services United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Strom Thurmond Ranking Minority Member Committee on Armed Services United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable John M. Spratt, Jr.
Chairman
Department of Energy Defense Nuclear Facilities Panel
Committee on Armed Services
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jon Kyl
Ranking Minority Member
Department of Energy Defense Nuclear Facilities Panel
Committee on Armed Services
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Floyd Spence
Department of Energy Defense Nuclear Facilities Panel
Committee on Armed Services
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Tom Bevill Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development House Appropriations Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable John T. Myers
Ranking Minority Member
Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development
House Appropriations Committee
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable J. James Exon
Chairman
Subcommittee on Nuclear Deterrence,
Arms Control and Defense Intelligence
Committee on Armed Services
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Trent Lott
Ranking Minority Leader
Subcommittee on Nuclear Deterrence,
Arms Control and Defense Intelligence
Committee on Armed Services
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable J. Bennett Johnston Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mark O. Hatfield Ranking Minority Member Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Robert C. Byrd Chairman Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510